Review Detail

Creepy and so so weird
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
If you know me you know that I absolutely love retellings, so when I requested this book I was expecting a pretty typical twisted retelling, but this book was so far from anything I imagined. We have our usual fairy tale characters Cinderella, Red Riding Hood, Snow White, Rapunzel, etc. but add in zombies, and vampires. BEANSTALKER AND OTHER HILARIOUS SCARYTALES is told in third person mostly following Jack as he tries to escape vampires and zombies.

This book was so weirdly amazing and so far outside the realm of any retelling, I’ve ever read before. It was hard not to like it. The characters were so unlike any I’d ever seen, the stories were very much reminiscent of the fairy tales we all know but completely fresh and new. And the way Kiersten narrates this book was so hilariously done. What I loved with the narration was how we got to see each character along with the hysterical tidbits Kiersten threw in throughout the book. The easy flow of the story along with the illustrations made it so hard to put down. It’s something that I think kids will get a kick out of. Another thing I really quite enjoyed was the way Kiersten used homonyms to really throw in some confusing and downright disgusting mix-ups.

These characters were the weirdest and also I kind of need more of them. We have Vampire Snow White and zombie Red Riding Hood. Cinderella and Prince Charming can both set things on fire. I mean these characters were just so different from anything I’ve read and I loved it. Also, I need a complete story of Prince Charming and Cinderella controlling fire, because… reasons. Mostly we follow Jack from village to village as he tries and fails to help those around him. I have to say in the beginning I did not like Jack, he is quite the trouble maker and he kept making messes for someone else to clean up. Not cool Jack. But after awhile he actually started to grow on me. He was funny and he had some boneheaded moments but in the end, he was just trying to help others. The ending is what really had me hoping for more. The way they fixed everything but may have just ended up causing more problems will be interesting to see.

If we do end up getting more I would love to see Prince Charming and Cinderella a bit more. I think it would be so cool to get to know them more. Overall this book was everything I wanted but nothing I was expecting. Funny, disgusting, and interesting, I couldn’t put it down. I can’t wait to see more from this world and what kind of trouble Jack might get into next. And if it’s any indication from that ending it’s gonna be BIG.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...

Latest Member Reviews

Phoenix (Five Ancestors Out of Ashes #1)
 
5.0
"Phoenix is competing in a local cycle race when Ryan, a sort-of friend, starts to ride dirty, grabbing the back..."
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by EshInobi Mouse, eh? I eagerly waited for this book. It wasn't what I expected... I expected more,..."
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by EshInoBi This was average... well, it wasn`t bad, but I think it was okay. Nothing extraordinary compared..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by EshInoBi Now, this I found interesting. It`s about a girl named Hok, who was trained like her..."
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by EshInoBi I found this book very interesting. For the first parts of the series, Ying is taught..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by EshInoBi Thanks to Kimberly Pauley, I got this book... So, anyways, since I got it for free,..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by K.P.P. this book is a historical fiction novel, filled with action, adventure, and five brothers. When Tiger..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Adrienne This book is filled with action, adventure, and well-detailed fight scenes! It's very fun to read..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by ben The warrior monks' sanctuary,Cangzhen, has been secret until now. The traitor Ying has led imperial troops..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by ben After the monks leave their temple they are seeking their birth parents.But first comes the dragon..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Bettina The warrior monks' sanctuary has been secret until now. The traitor Ying has led imperial troops..."