Review Detail

Lance's Family
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
A fun new read for LEGO and NEXO Knights fans.

Following the same format as others in the NEXO Knights starter-level chapter books series, this 80-page read features large font, with 3D rendered stills from the TV show featured on nearly every page. The pacing is quick, and the frequency of images ought to keep many a young reader engaged with the storytelling.

This installment largely stars Lance Richmond—the richest and most famous of the NEXO Knights. (He becomes the focus primarily because it’s his exorbitantly rich and semi-delusional parents who are abducted by Jestro’s wealth-seeking minions.) In this, his devotion to his family comes into serious question. But overall it’s not truly an origin or backstory book. (i.e. no childhood flashbacks or any depth on Lance’s actual upbringing.)

While Lance’s parents are obnoxiously overprivileged, they never come across as mean or evil people. Their narrow perspectives about what’s going on around them both helps explain Lance’s self-absorbed disposition, and provides most of the comedy relief—as they insistently interpret their own kidnapping as a day at the worst “spa” they’ve ever experienced. The complaining antics of this couple kept my kids (ages 7 and 8) generally amused.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

The Secret Diary of Lydia Bennet
 
4.7
"Lydia Bennet is not a fan of the country life. Her older sisters do their own things, and she’s left..."
Macbeth #killingit (OMG Shakespeare series)
 
4.0
"Imagine Hamlet being told through social media! This is a fun retelling of Hamlet told through text messages, Twitter,..."