Review Detail

Kids Fiction 1034
The Backstory of Bamarre
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Lady Peregrine is a Lakti, and her mother has taught her that the Bamarre are far inferior to her people in many ways, even though her loyal servant, Annet, is Bamarre. Soon, however, Perry learns secrets from the fairy Halina that make her doubt her entire existence. Still, she accompanies her father on a mission to her father's military headquarters, armed with several magical implements that her mother has given her. Among them are seven league boots, as well as a pendant that could keep her safe during fighting against the Kyngoll's her father is facing. Unfortunately, she needs these devices when she is captured, but her fate is not what she suspected. She ends up in a situation where she learns that her deep seated prejudices are unfounded, that her family is not comprised of the people she has known and loved for years, and that the fate of the Bamarre may rest with her.
Good Points

There are a lot of twists and turns in this story, and I don't want to give away anything in this prequel to The Two Princesses of Bamarre (2001). Even though it's been a long time since I read that one, I was quickly drawn back into that world. It was good to see the magical keepsakes again, and to discover the origin story of one of the important characters discussed in the first book.

Perry is an intriguing character who must deal with a lot of conflicting ideas about her identity and her family. She meets these challenges in a realistic way-- she is reluctant to embrace them at first, but slowly comes around to her new reality and is able to champion a new cause. She also encounters magic for the first time, and finds it surprising. She also has a tentative romance, which is never a bad thing in an adventurous fantasy.

The Two Princesses of Bamarre was one of my daughter's favorite books in middle school, and I know that she is very excited to see this new journey into that world. Readers who loved Wrede's Enchanted Forest or Pierce's Tortall, as well as the princess tales of Baker, Green and Zahle, will definitely want to step out with Perry... in her seven league boots!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Fisher- Price Fun in the Jungle: Explore, Touch, and Feel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Children will love exploring the different textures in this playful...
Glitter Globes: The Night Before Christmas
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
On the night before Christmas, all over the house, not...
Belinda Fellgate: HellCat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A contemporary teen fantasy about an inept 14-year-old girl who...
Breathless
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Jennifer Niven, the #1 New York Times bestselling author...
Music for Tigers
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Shipped halfway around the world to spend the summer...
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A broken world. An overwhelming evil. ...
Kingdom of Ice and Bone (The Frozen Sun Saga, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lira and Reyker have lost everything. Including each other....
Sword of the Seven Sins
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Eva Marteinn never wanted to be a killer. Raised...
Things That Should Stay Buried
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Some destinies are written in the stars. Others must...
How It All Blew Up
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda goes to Italy...
Horrid
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of You Must Not Miss comes...
Tsalix Silverthorn and the Scepter of Destiny
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The latest phenomenal work from New York Times Bestselling author...
The Adventures of Bubba Jones (#4): Time Traveling Through Grand Canyon National Park
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth book of this award-winning national park series,...
The Companion
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The other orphans say Margot is lucky. Lucky to...
Sanctuary
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's 2032, and in this near-future America, all citizens...
Teen Titans: Beast Boy
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Author Kami Garcia (Beautiful Creatures) and artist Gabriel Picolo,...

Latest Member Reviews

The Shadow Prince (Into the Dark #1)
 
3.7
"MY THOUGHTS This is a very interesting take on mythology and the Persephone myth! I have never read another..."
Nobody
 
3.7
"Claire is no one. Her parents forget she exists. She has no friends, and can't even talk to people on..."
The Shadow Prince (Into the Dark #1)
 
4.7
"The Shadow Prince by Bree Despain is a new take on some Greek myths, mostly dealing with the Underworld. Prince..."
BZRK: Reloaded (BZRK #2)
 
4.7
"The BZRK books are like reading a video game – totally exhilarating and leaves you breatheless with nervous energy. The..."
The Shadow Prince (Into the Dark #1)
 
4.3
"I was very delighted to learn of Bree Despain’s next paranormal series, and the fact that it is based on..."
White Space (The Dark Passages #1)
 
5.0
"When I saw The White Space up for review, I hit request as a reflex - I just HAD TO..."
Infinityglass (Hourglass #3)
 
5.0
"PREFACE: After reading and falling in love with the Hourglass world and its characters, I was excited to finish the..."
Timepiece (Hourglass #2)
 
5.0
"PREFACE: I loved Myra McEntire's debut novel, Hourglass, so of course I was going to read the sequel, Timepiece. And..."
Infinityglass (Hourglass #3)
 
5.0
"From the first few moments of Infinityglass, it's clear that this is going to be a different sort of story..."
BZRK: Reloaded (BZRK #2)
 
4.7
"The BZRK books are like reading a video game – totally exhilarating and leaves you breatheless with nervous energy. The..."
BZRK (BZRK #1)
 
4.3
"The thing about BZRK I liked the most is the world-building. Yes, it is not exactly a fantasy nor a..."
The Mephisto Kiss (The Mephisto Covenant #2)
 
4.0
"When I had read The Redemption of Ajax, I wasn’t so sure about the series you know. It was a..."
Monsters (The Ashes Trilogy #3)
 
5.0
"Ashes, Shadows and Monsters – this trilogy has been a roller coaster ride of emotions for me. I have never..."
Shadows (Ashes Trilogy #2)
 
5.0
"With the way Ashes was, I knew Shadows was going to be good, or even better. Ilsa Bick sure didn’t..."
Infinityglass (Hourglass #3)
 
5.0
"What I loved: Once again, Myra McEntire takes readers on a fast-paced, smart, funny, and romantic ride. I..."
Notes From Ghost Town
 
2.7
"The story starts of with Olivia and Lucas-best friends, being cute and flirty, which escalated into a make-out session. Olivia..."
Infinityglass (Hourglass #3)
 
3.7
"Last year I was introduced to the wonderful Hourglass series! I fell in love with Michael and Emerson's story in..."
Infinityglass (Hourglass #3)
 
5.0
"This...is a really hard review to write. I utterly adore this series. It's kind of seeped into my life,..."
Infinityglass (Hourglass #3)
 
5.0
"What I Loved: McEntire is back with her feisty, witty, and at times wildly inappropriate characters. This time,..."
Contaminated (Contaminated #1)
 
4.7
"When I first picked up Contaminated, it sounded like the average run of the mill zombie book. And don't..."