Review Detail

Kids Fiction 1081
Two Views of Halloween!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Enzo (dog) and Zoe (human) are both gearing up for Halloween in Garth Stein’s ENZO’S VERY SCARY HALLOWEEN. The story starts with Denny (Zoe’s dad) introducing Enzo to the idea that Halloween might be a little frightening, and for the remainder of the book, Enzo tries to reconcile what he’s seeing with what he knows (and smells) of how the world works.

Halloween can be a little scary, and this story will help kids who might be inclined toward the freaked-out side of the holiday. At the same time, ENZO has way too many words… the illustrations are so expressive that the narrative could have been cut in half (or more) and the story would have been just as effective.

I don’t recommend ENZO’S VERY SCARY HALLOWEEN for younger preschoolers—I was reading to three-year-olds who fell asleep half way through the book—but older kids will appreciate Enzo’s apprehension about the scariest night of the year, and his relief when it’s all over with a happy ending. Zoe's delight with the holiday will strike a chord with those who love Halloween.

My thanks to the publisher and YA Books Central for a copy of the book in exchange for my unbiased review.
Good Points
Enzo is cute and kids will enjoy his story

A look at Halloween from multiple viewpoints
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

A Wolf for a Spell
 
4.0
"Zima is struggling to adjust to the new dynamics of her pack ever since her parents died in a fire..."