Review Detail

Magical and fun
(Updated: February 28, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
PIP BARTLETT’S GUIDE TO UNICORN TRAINING is the second book in the Pip Bartlett series. After an accident back home Pip has been sent to spend the summer with her Aunt who owns a magical animal clinic. With a new best friend Thomas, and all the magical animals she could possibly read about, Pip has found a great place to fit in. With the Fuzzle incident cleared up Pip and Thomas move on to their next adventure, Unicorn Training! Even with the ability to talk to animals, Pip is going to have her hands full with this one.


What worked for me:

What I love about Maggie’s book so much was that she brings in this element of friendship that is so unique. Pip and Thomas become quick friends and they work really well together. Thomas is always ready for one of Pip’s ideas. And usually, Pip and Thomas have to come up with some quick ideas to save the day!

After learning that Mr. Henshaw has entered his Unicorn Regent Maximus in the Triple Trident competition, Pip takes it upon herself to train Maximus. With Thomas’ help, Pip comes up with creative ways to get Maximus through each round of the tournament. She works hard and she doesn’t give up no matter what obstacles are thrown at her.

What I love about Pip as a character was her drive. She knew she wants to study animals and nobody will stand in her way. Pip knows that no one believes she can talk to the animals but I loved that she never backed down or didn’t believe herself. She’s a strong character and one that I think a lot of kids will enjoy reading about. The fact that a young girl wants to be a researcher is one of my favorite parts. Not everyone gets it but it matters to Pip and she’ll see it through.

I also loved Pip’s family. Aunt Emma and Callie her cousin. They were both such great characters. Callie never understood Pip’s love for all magical creatures, but she helps her when she needs it. Callie was also hilarious. She cracked me up because she reminded me of what I was like when I was a kid. Everything was always so dramatic. Aunt Emma was also another favorite character of mine. She worked hard and she made Pip feel at home and encouraged her love of animals.

What left me wanting more:

For me, some of the drawings were placed in weird spots or distracted from the story. I think if they were included on the same page as the text then it would have flowed a lot more. Sometimes I would have to turn back and read the last sentence to remember where I was. Despite that, though, I loved that the drawings were included and gave you a glimpse of some of the animals they were talking about. Some of them were weird to picture in your mind so I loved that I could flip the page and see what they looked like.

Overall I thought this was such a great follow-up to the first book in the series. Pip and the cast of characters in these books have been so fun to get to know. They are interesting and fun, most of all Pip is a great lead to this story. She smart and feisty, and she works hard. She knows exactly what she wants in life and she’s willing to work her butt off to get there. The easy flow of this story added with Maggie’s amazing art style this is one book that anyone can enjoy.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Rags & Bones: New Twists on Timeless Tales
 
4.0
"With anthologies, the reading experience is always going to be a mixed bag. Rags & Bones is one I’ll remember..."
Foretold: 14 Stories of Prophecy and Prediction
 
N/A
"I really enjoyed some of these stories but there were a few that I didnt like. My favorite one was..."
Foretold: 14 Stories of Prophecy and Prediction
 
4.0
"Since this was a collection of short stories I'm just going to offer a brief opinion on each one, seeing..."
Shards and Ashes
 
3.0
"What I Loved: Anthologies are ever a mixed bag. Rarely will a reader love every single story, and, in this..."
Foretold: 14 Stories of Prophecy and Prediction
 
5.0
"This was a great collection of short stories. It was interesting to see all the different ways the authors portrayed..."
Foretold: 14 Stories of Prophecy and Prediction
 
4.0
"I'm totally loving this latest crop of YA anthologies. It's like my former UCI writing professor once told us,..."