Review Detail

Kids Fiction 696
An Imaginative Mystery
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
'When Penny Met POTUS' by Rachel Ruiz, and illustrated by Melissa Manwill, is a terrifically imaginative read about a young girl spending the day at work with her mom. Her mom works at the White House and has a boss who Penny has never met. All she knows is that the boss goes by the name POTUS, so she pictures a large creature who happily takes her around its home, sharing its work with her, having tea parties, and learning about where it eats and where it likes to travel. Little does she know that POTUS is a more elusive creature than she would have hoped. As she asks around about where she might find POTUS, the workers she finds around the house are not of much help. POTUS always seems to be someplace else. As Penny searches her imagination and then literally searches the house for more information about who and what POTUS is, she discovers that even though the imagination can be fantastically creative, all isn't necessarily as it seems.

It is a sweet story that shows how children should never stop thinking, dreaming, and showing interest in solving any and all of life's mysteries, no matter how large or small. The illustrations bring the story even more to life, with bright colors that capture the beauty of Penny's instincts about how cool it is that her mother works for such an awesomely interesting boss, at least from Penny's perspective.
Good Points
It is a sweet story that shows how children should never stop thinking, dreaming, and showing interest in solving any and all of life's mysteries, no matter how large or small. The illustrations bring the story even more to life.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found