Review Detail

Recipe for a great winter break.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
After their adventures in Cupcake Cousins and Summer Showers, cousins Willow and Delia are back with their family in Michigan, this time preparing for the wedding of Cat and Mr. Rickles. It's Christmas vacation, and they are glad to be back together, but the two are struggling to decide what they should do for Cat as a wedding present. Willow is still smarting from some baking attempts that went awry and caused students at her school to make fun of her, so she is longing to stay permanently in Whispering Pines with her extended family. The triplets (June, July and August) require a lot of care, and the girls help out with them. Cat has asked them to help her with the baking for her wedding day, but they can't seem to keep enough items in the kitchen, since they seem to disappear over night. There is also a homeless shelter event the day before the wedding, and everyone is stressed and trying to figure out how to make that work. Eventually, the girls get their baking done, get ready to be flower girls, and manage to involve the whole community in their various preparations.
Good Points
This is a fine ending for an upbeat series about an extended family and friends in a small community. While the relatives usually serve as background for the antics of Delia and Willow, it's great to see involved, funny grandparents, harried aunts, and parents who are more than a little distracted by everything that's going on, but who really want to support their children. Even the little brother, Sweet William, and the baby cousins add a feeling of togetherness and family that many readers crave. (Think about how appealing The Brady Bunch was to those of us who weren't from large families!)

I especially appreciated the fact that Willow's father says they will NOT be moving away from their home near Chicago, and that Willow is going to have to face her disappointments and deal with her friends. That is much more realistic than the family relocating, which I thought might happen!

Willow and Delia are allowed a lot of responsibility, which is great. While I don't know many ten year olds who cook as much as they do, they are always portrayed as fairly responsible, although they do make age appropriate mistakes. Things don't always go well, but the girls are wonderful at assessing the situation, asking for help, and trying their best to make things go right. This message about perseverance in the face of obstacles is one that many girls can use.

Of course, the recipes are a fun addition, even if readers don't make cocoa or miracle waffles. Readers who enjoy Simon's Cupcake Diaries, Papademetriou's Confectionately Yours books and have moved beyond Hiranandani's Phoebe G. Green series will gladly gobble down this new recipe for winter fun.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Pawns (The Wielders of Arantha)
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Seven hundred years in the future, a powerful alien...
Perfectly Oblivious
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Cameron Bates (Cam) could have almost any girl at...
By Any Means Necessary
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Heart-wrenchingly honest, fans of Brandy Colbert and Nicola Yoon...
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Annie and Lee were just children when a brutal...
Into the Crooked Place (Into the Crooked Place, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Into the Crooked Place begins a gritty two-book YA...
The Rift
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
As corporate greed is pitted against supernatural forces, two...
The Light at the Bottom of the World (The Light at the Bottom of the World, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the last days of the twenty-first century, sea creatures...
Conceal, Don't Feel (Twisted Tales, #7)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if Anna and Elsa never knew each other? ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling Divergent and Carve the Mark author Veronica Roth delivers...
Bernard Pepperlin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The drowsy Dormouse from Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland...
Vicarious
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Paula Stokes weaves together a series of mysteries and the...
The Bookworm Crush
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This spinoff of The Replacement Crush featuring Amy and Toff...

Latest Member Reviews

Abraham Lincoln: The Making of America #3
 
4.5
"A highly accessible biographical overview of (arguably) the most renowned and history-altering of all the United States presidents. The book..."
Stonewall Riots: Coming Out in the Streets
 
4.0
"June 28th marks the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots in Greenwich Village, New York City, so it's great to..."
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
"THE MADMAN OF PINEY WOODS follows two young boys in Canada as their lives are changing and intersecting. Benji Alston..."
It Began with a Page: How Gyo Fujikawa Drew the Way
 
4.3
"IT BEGAN WITH A PAGE brings us through the journey of Gyo Fujikawa, an incredible Japanese artist and author. Since..."
O Captain, My Captain: Walt Whitman, Abraham Lincoln, and the Civil War
 
5.0
"O CAPTAIN MY CAPTAIN teaches us more about Walt Whitman's life and his time spent during the Civil War. To..."
The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean
 
5.0
"THE ASTRONAUT WHO PAINTED THE MOON is the true story of Alan Bean, the fourth man to walk on the..."
Secret Soldiers: How the U.S. Twenty-Third Special Troops Fooled the Nazis
 
5.0
"During WWII, there were dozens and dozens of departments and units doing things that 95% of the population still has..."
Gittel's Journey: An Ellis Island Story
 
5.0
"Gittel’s Journey tells the story of a brave young Jewish girl immigrating to the United States from Easter Europe, all..."
Planting Stories: The Life of Librarian and Storyteller Pura Belpré
 
5.0
"PLANTING STORIES teaches about the "story seeds" Pura Belpre planted during her time and how they influenced today's world. Pura..."
Ocean Renegades! (Earth Before Us #2): Journey through the Paleozoic Era
 
4.0
"In OCEAN RENEGADES, Ronnie takes a trip into the Paleozoic Era with Miss Lernin. Here, she learns all there is..."
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
 
5.0
"ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING includes factual information on our world history. It's divided by time periods and eras of importance. This book..."
Poetry 101
 
4.0
"POETRY 101 by Susan Dalzell is a comprehensive introduction to poetry written in the English language. The book takes us..."