Review Detail

Kids Fiction 4409
Sweet and Fun!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
An incredibly sweet story, in more ways than one! Alicia loves to bake, and since her family runs a bakery it's a perfect way to test out her favorite recipes for cake pops. Or is it? Ali's dad is has a very traditional outlook, and since Ali's mother passed away he is strictly against change. Can Ali convince him to try something new that just might save the bakery from going out of business? Meanwhile, Ali is balancing the drama of her first crush with changing friendships at school.

I was surprised by the fantastic realism this book had to offer. While it was fluffy and cute, there was a seriousness and depth that I didn't expect. Ali's family is still struggling without her mother around to help them through hard times, and those hard times just might shut down the bakery, which is the family's livelihood.

The drama that Ali encounters at school centers around boys who are unfortunately poorly developed characters, and an unrealistic frenemy named Sarah. I found the lack of depth in most of the side characters to be disappointing, but the engaging plot, great writing, and catchy baking sequences more than make up for that lack.

CAKE POP CRUSH is a delightful and sweet story that will no doubt be enjoyed by many girls, and will definitely spark an interest in baking! Highly recommended for middle schoolers, or older readers who want something fluffy and light.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 1

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maia Tamarin proved her skill as a tailor when...
Call of the Rift: Flight
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kateiko doesn’t want to be Rin anymore —...

Latest Member Reviews

Luminary
 
5.0
"Emily is 23 and excited about her life, close to finishing college, has a good part time job and doesn't..."
Luminary
 
5.0
"I enjoyed it. I had not experienced anything from this author before, but I liked the cover description about soul..."
Luminary
 
5.0
"Great writing. I loved the overall tone, which made me feel like I was right in the heart of the..."
Luminary
 
5.0
"Being a dad, I'm not a typical reader of YA novels, but as a man with 3 teenage daughters, I..."
Luminary
 
5.0
"I'm not much into giving five star ratings. I read many genres. I absolutely loved this book. It has such..."
Luminary
 
5.0
PSPS
"I didn't want to put the book down. This author astonishes with her incredible gift for story telling. The writing..."