Review Detail

Kids Fiction 1241
Beautiful and Important
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Shane Woods is focused on baseball, writing and illustrating a graphic novel, and balancing time between his best friend and his new maybe-girlfriend. He’s a typical twelve-year-old boy in most ways, but when one of the other kids at his school learns something that Shane has been trying to keep private, the safe life Shane has loved since moving to LA from San Francisco is threatened.

M. G. Hennessey has written an engrossing and enlightening story of a twelve-year-old boy who is trying to navigate the normal difficulties of sixth grade compounded by his efforts to keep his gender unquestioned.

Shane lives with his mother in LA, and she’s unquestionably supportive, while his father in San Francisco is loving but bewildered by his transgender son, and he still obviously holds out hope that his little girl will someday return. The other adults in Shane’s life are also largely supportive—albeit awkward and uncomfortable at times—and THE OTHER BOY is realistic without being gritty and sweet and hopeful without being saccharine.

I loved this book. I started it before cooking dinner, I read it while cooking dinner, I took a bit of a break to eat dinner and be social with the family, and then I finished it after dinner. And I’m tempted to start reading it again right now rather than start a new book.

I hope that there will be more books like THE OTHER BOY written so that trans kids have protagonists with whom they can identify, and so that their friends and family have an easy way to explore and learn a bit about some of the experiences—both good and bad—of transgender youth.

My thanks to the publisher for a advanced copy of the book in exchange for my unbiased review.
Good Points
A complex story handled simply and beautifully

A book to read in one sitting
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...

Latest Member Reviews

Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
"One hundred years ago. When I was growing up, this seemed like an impossibly long time in the past. The..."
Suffragette: The Battle for Equality
 
4.0
"While there are a number of excellent books about women's suffrage available, including Kops' Alice Paul, Zimet's Roses and Radicals,..."
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
"Why we still need biographies of first wave feminists: "A married woman taking her husband's name reflected that under legal..."
No Truth Without Ruth: The Life of Ruth Bader Ginsburg
 
5.0
"As an adult woman, I don’t really remember a time when women couldn’t do the things they wanted to do..."
Votes for Women!: American Suffragists and the Battle for the Ballot
 
4.0
"A candid, comprehensive, and thoroughly researched look at the long fight for women’s rights—spanning nearly a century of history while..."
Fly Girls: The Forgotten Women Airforce Service Pilots of WWII
 
5.0
"While WWI used planes, the technology and use really took off during WWII. It's hard for people today to understand..."
Alice Paul and the Fight for Women's Rights
 
5.0
"In this very timely book, the story of Alice Paul's life is interwoven with the women's movement in the same..."
Motor Girls: How Women Took the Wheel and Drove Boldly Into the Twentieth Century
 
5.0
"Having explored how women gained freedom in the mid 1800s and onward in her 2011 Wheels of Change: How Women..."