Review Detail

Twelve Days of Kindergarten
(Updated: March 14, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
ON THE FIRST DAY OF KINDERGARTEN is a new adaption of "The Twelve Days of Christmas." Using a similar rhyming pattern, the reader follows a little girl as she goes through her first twelve days of kindergarten. Though the rhyming feels a tad forced, each day brings a new and exciting day of kindergarten.

The story follows an unnamed character and slowly brings on a class full of children. Each child is allowed a different expression. They are ethnically diverse, and each kid has his or her own personality. Hughes's illustrations allow for some kid to participate, some shy, and some scared of the first few days of school. This range gives it an honest feel, which will speak to a variety of children and their parents.
The different activities like sports, art, reading and gym bring a social aspect to the book. It shows that kindergarten can be fun.

Perfect for younger readers getting ready to start their first days of school.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Ida B.
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Jessica M. Ida B. is about a ten year old girl whose life is absolutely perfect,until one..."
Ida B.
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by librariane Ida B. (never call her just plain Idathats her mother) has been able to enjoy life..."