Review Detail

Lets All Go to the Eucalyptus, Eucalyptus Tree
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
One Day in the Eucalyptus, Eucalyptus Tree is a whimsical story of a very clever boy who gets eaten by a snake.

The boy is out and about when a snake gobbles him up. The boy does not panic. Instead, he devises a plan to get himself free. That involves having the snake eat many other creatures. One by one, the snake eats creatures in the jungle near the eucalyptus tree. The boy keeps egging the snake to keep eating. Meanwhile, the snake gets so full he can't eat another bite. The boy's plan has worked.

David Bernstrom creates a wonderful new story. It features a sweet, beautiful brown boy. At the end of the day, it could be any boy on a wild adventure. The story feels familiar, like The Jungle Book with very modern twist.

The artwork by Brendan Wenzel helps set a classic folktale mood. The dark images set in the belly of the snake are contrasted by the bright pops of color in the jungle.

One Day in the Eucalyptus, Eucalyptus Tree is a great new addition to any library.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...

Latest Member Reviews

The Spelling Bee and Me: A Real-Life Adventure in Learning
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Kim Peek This book provides solid introductory information on how to prepare for and what to expect..."