Review Detail

Kids Fiction 1844
Fun, Freaky, and just plain Scary!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
There is something so wonderfully satisfying about a good scary book in October. Halloween is just around the corner, creepy Jack-O-Lanterns will soon grace porches, and black cats will be indicative of a witch lurking nearby. What could be a better cherry on a spook-tacular sundae than a collection of tales determined to make you sleep with a nightlight or a flashlight under your pillow?

Jon Scieszka rounded up some of the best authors for this installment of GUYS READ: TERRIFYING TALES. With the literary talents of Kelly Barnhill, Michael Buckley, Adam Gidwitz, Adele Griffin and Lisa Brown, Claire Legrand, Nikki Loftin, Daniel Jose Older, Dav Pilkey, Rita Williams-Garcia, and none other than R.L. Stine, you KNOW there is some great stuff here. And there is.

GUYS READ: TERRIFYING TALES is a collection of short stories, and one graphic novel inspired piece, that guarantees to give even a seasoned pro a scare. I grew up with Fright Night, Wes Craven, Rob Zombie, King, and all the horror classics of the 80s and 90s. There were several times while reading GUYS READ that my tummy flipped as scare-drenaline kicked into high gear. Not to mention the other times I had to remind myself these stories are intended for the middle grade crowd! Seriously!

Scieszka picked the best of the best to fill GUYS READ: TERRIFYING TALES with all the essentials. There is a story for every spooky taste. You dig paranormal? Done. What about eccentric? Yep. How about twisted humor that will leave you questioning if it was intended to be funny or just make you THINK it was just funny when it was actually pretty creepy? Got that too. Or are you a classic horror or a slasher flick kind of guy? Jon’s got you hooked up!

Oh, and when I say “guy,” really I mean all readers. Scieszka set out to tell stories that guys would like to see out there, but even girls can enjoy these reads. I do! But if you want a cute love story with a happily ever after, you’re not going to find that here. These tales are for the serious spook crowd. Each story is a quick read, with lots of great imagination and twists on some old favorite stories. I, personally, would have loved to see the artwork the authors wanted to include, but the ARC I received had a lot of “pending” art. I may have to get the finished product to have a more complete scare. If the concept sketches are any indicator, they will rock!

So, in short, if you dig good scary reads that include all the wicked things that go bump in the night, do yourself a favor and read GUYS READ: TERRIFYING TALES. It’s the perfect addition to any creep library. If you’re a fan, or know of a fan, of the cult classic Tales from the Crypt, then this is the perfect book for you! Just be sure to pack lots of batteries for your flashlight.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
Two Worlds of Redemption (Two Worlds, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
Two Worlds of Oblivion (Two Worlds, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
" In Bed Being sick is..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Ellen Ronald Koertge has an amazing use of poetic form in the..."
 
2.0
"Reader reviewed by safia The Brimstone Journals contains poems from several different voices at a suburban high school. The..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by nikki It is a great thing to read at first i was kinda scared about what was..."
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by trsbaby Basically this book is overall captivating and exciting. Every character has a problem and records it..."
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by trs07 This book was pretty captivationg for the most part. It is mainly a book with poetry..."
 
5.0
" You don't get much more timely than this collection of poetry from Ron Koertge. And before any of you..."