Review Detail

Kids Fiction 1735
Sweet as sugar and just plain funny
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
What I Loved:

Dawn, Darby, and Delaney Brewster are a very driven set of triplets with the goal of conquering the United States via becoming the president, Speaker of the House, and the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, respectively. Right now, they’re focused on snagging the church pageant roles of the Three Wise Men they were robbed of. Their outrage over being denied the roles solely because they’re girls results in all sorts of fun. If someone tries to tell my niece she can’t do something or play a certain role because of her gender, I hope she does what the Brewster girls do and fights it.

The hijinks they get into looking for their beloved Mr. Neighbor’s family heirloom Santa figurine makes for a fun, believable B-plot. Late-night surveillance, night-vision goggles, a game of detective,… I would have done many things to end up in their shoes when I was 11/12, but such games were only in my daydreams or the monthly spy books/gadgets I ordered from the Scholastic catalogs my English teachers handed out in class. I’m an old fart now, but the Brewster girls reminded me of what it was like to be their age. If you didn’t read Revenge of the Bridesmaids like me, the girls will get you up to speed on what little you need to know, so you won’t be lost.

What Left Me Wanting:

At times, it can be hard to tell the girls apart since all three share POV chapters written in first-person. Darby is the dreamer, Dawn is the leader, and Delaney is the one who can’t stay still. They sound different enough, but their internal monologues have a tendency to blend together. Sometimes, I only remembered who was narrating because she’d say her sisters’ names and I went through the process of elimination! They seemed to have an extraordinary amount of freedom for their age too. My parents wouldn’t let me walk down on the street on my own or with friends, let alone all over town. Then again, I grew up heavily sheltered. Suburbia is a serious drug.

Final Verdict:

Whether or not you’ve read Revenge of the Bridesmaids, you’ll surely laugh out loud and enjoy the ride throughout Revenge of the Angels. It’s the perfect read for when you want something winter-flavored and sweet as sugar.
Good Points
*Laugh-out-loud funny
*Great messages for girls
*Believable adventures of eleven/twelve-year-olds
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...

Latest Member Reviews

The Spatulatta Cookbook
 
5.0
TM Terry Miller Shannon
"Excuse me while I drool over this colorful cookbook packed full of luscious recipes. The cookbook is the brainchild of..."