Review Detail

Connect the Stars FeaturedHot
Kids Fiction 6004
Survival, Friendships, & Feels
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Connect the Stars is just the book I was wishing for to pull me out of my reading slump: Interesting characters, compelling plot, high-risk scenarios, and plenty of teen agency. I couldn’t put this book down and I enjoyed every second of my time spent reading!

For characters Audrey & Aaron, keeping friends is tough. Both teens have “gifts” that feel more and more like curses as they enter the wilds of middle school. Audrey can tell when people are lying - and it turns out that everyone lies. Especially in middle school and especially your (former) best friends.

Aaron has a mind like a camera; everything he sees and hears is stored away in his mind, but when it comes to feelings and opinions Aaron worries he might not have what it takes to figure things out. When both kids are sent to a wilderness camp in the deserts of New Mexico, they are forced to rely on themselves and their newfound friendships to survive.

Connect the Stars was everything I love about Middle Grade novels rolled into one book: figuring out life, being awkward, discovering your own strengths, and navigating friendships. One of the biggest challenges that these teens faced was learning what it meant to be vulnerable with others. Letting people in can be scary, especially if you’ve been burned before. In this novel, there were lots of different aspects to vulnerability, and each teen in Audrey and Aaron’s wilderness group had to learn how to make friends in a very individual way. Through all the hiccups that come with trusting others (and trusting yourself), there were lots of bonds formed that made this story a compelling read.

The setting was its own character and I don’t often get to read about teens in a desert camping environment. Growing up in a similar landscape, I really connected with the location and the vivid words the authors, Marisa de los Santos and David Teague, used to create a rich, dangerous landscape.

When one of the campers goes missing, it’s up to these teens to find her and also keep themselves safe. As I mentioned before, there’s a lot of teen initiative in this book and what’s more important than learning to cooperate as a group when you have zero adult supervision? Okay, not zero, but I’m getting to that part.

The only thing that left me feeling very uncomfortable about this story was the camp supervisor, Jare. He was unstable at best, and towards the final quarter of the book, he began to exhibit some really unhealthy reactions towards the teens. Without spoiling the mystery of the plot, I’ll just say that the way in which Jare’s storyline was handled was the only unbelievable part of the story. While Audrey and Aaron both learn the importance of telling the truth, but in a way in which they have authority, the entire group of teens end up covering for Jare’s mistakes. Mistakes that should have had serious consequences for him as an adult in charge of teens. I felt like that plot point did a disservice, both to the characters and the readers, to have such an unhealthy example of how lies can be used. Rather than take everything they’d learned about telling the truth and facing their issues, all of the teens decided to help an adult “save face.” It was the only part of the plot that felt disappointing, as it could have demonstrated that some lies come with very big consequences.

Overall, this book was a great story with a strong cast. The sense of direction was clear from the beginning and the authors followed it through with lots of humor and relatable voices. As the summer draws to a close, this is a great book to add to the list to help keep that camp spirit alive a bit longer.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 4 1

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...
Chess Not Checkers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After surviving the Crossing, Zahru has sworn off adventures. While...
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
MAY THE HAZEL BRING YOU WISDOM AND THE ASPEN...
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
With passion and precision, Kekla Magoon relays an essential account...
Kneel
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This fearless debut novel explores racism, injustice, and self-expression through...

Latest Member Reviews

The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
"What worked: I loved this engaging, heart-felt story with one strong Chicanx protagonist. Think I'M NOT YOUR PERFECT MEXICAN DAUGHTER..."
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.3
"ALL OUR HIDDEN GIFTS was a riveting and darkly captivating YA fantasy/thriller/horror read. Maeve is a teen girl and not..."
The Lost Girls
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Outsiders
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
Twilight (Twilight #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
For the Wolf (The Wilderwood, #1)
 
4.7
"FOR THE WOLF is a captivating fantasy read that sweeps the reader away to the Wilderwood. Redarys (Red) is the..."
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
"Simone's Haitian immigrant parents are very strict; she and her sister Anne have to go to an all girls school..."
Chasing Lucky
 
4.3
"Josie Saint-Martin and her mother have lived an itinerant lifestyle ever since they left the small Rhode Island seaside town..."
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
"Curse of the Specter Queen by Jenny Elder Moke is Indiana Jones meets The Mummy (1999) and encompasses everything I..."
The Heartbreak Bakery
 
4.7
"Seventeen-year-old agender Syd loves baking, but when her brownies set off a string of breakups-including her own-she comes up with..."
Heartbreakers and Fakers
 
5.0
"HEARTBREAKERS AND FAKERS is a consuming YA contemporary romance that I absolutely devoured. Penny wakes up on the lawn after..."
Of Princes and Promises (Rosetta Academy, #2)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD ZULU..."