Review Detail

Kids Fiction 2119
Pure Imagination
(Updated: August 26, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Confessions of an Imaginary Friend is humorous and delightful. I laughed my way through this book, and it’s no surprise why. Jacques Papier is a witty, compassionate protagonist who happens to be going through an existential crisis. Except that Jacques Papier doesn’t really exist. After discovering that he is, in fact, a figment of his “sister" Fleur's imagination, Jacques goes on a journey to find his purpose in life.

Jacques Papier moves from one child to the next, fulfilling his imaginary friend duties, and ultimately learning about the power of friendship and the courage it takes to be yourself. One of my favorite moments comes after Jacques gets paired with a very shy, very real kid named Bernard. The two help each other realize just how special it is to be noticed by somebody else. As Jacques helps Bernard find his voice, Bernard helps Jacques find his compassion for others. I was holding back tears by the end - something I wasn’t expecting from the overall humorous tone of the book, but it added great depth to the character arc.

While Jacques has good reason to question his literal visibility, this entire book deals with themes of visibility and the agency of children who are growing up and trying to navigate an adult world. I also found it dealt with emotions in a healthy manner. Jacques misses Fleur and he never tries to minimize his own feelings. Instead, he finds a group of fellow imaginary friends and talks through his emotions. Along with sharing his emotional journey, he learns to listen and empathize with those around him.

The beginning of this book reminded me of A Diary of a Wimpy Kid in style of prose and format. With fun drawings sprinkled throughout and short chapters, this book is ideal for readers who are ready to tackle chapter books with more advanced words and humor. However, it would also make for a fun read-aloud story for younger children.


If you’re looking for an out-of-the-box, feel good, laugh inducing middle grade read then Confessions of an Imaginary Friend is just the book for you!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

One True Way
 
5.0
"In 1977, Allie and her mother move from New Jersey to the South. Grieving over the death of her brother..."
Cake Pop Crush
 
4.0
"An incredibly sweet story, in more ways than one! Alicia loves to bake, and since her family runs a bakery..."