Review Detail

A Handful of Stars FeaturedHot
Kids Fiction 4969
Blueberries, Bravery, and a Beautiful Friendship
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
What do dogs, bees, and blueberries have in common? Admittedly, not much at first, but to a young girl named Tigerlily they are a few of the only things that make perfect sense. After her dog Lucky went blind, Tigerlily (Lily to everyone else), has gotten used to being his eyes. When Lucky gets loose in the blueberry patches and makes a blind dash for freedom, he’s saved by Selma, a daughter of migrant workers who spend summers working the blueberry patches of Maine.

What I loved about this book…where to begin? The ebb and flow of Cynthia Lord’s words pulled at my heart and made me laugh, cry, and sigh. You know those books that just feel like they were written for you? This is that type of book. Through Lily’s desperate attempts to save her dog’s eyesight, we get a glimpse of a girl struggling with grief and loneliness. Lily is being raised by her grandparents in a small town in Maine where their livelihood depends on the blueberry/tourist season. Lily raises money for Lucky’s eye surgery by painting bee boxes for the native mason bees. She stencils the patterns on, carefully detailing blueberries and bees. When Selma joins her one-day in painting the boxes, Lily is surprised to find Selma creating pink bees, and yellow blueberry stars. Lily is convinced that Selma is painting “wrong,” but Selma replies, “That’s what I like about art. It lets me become more like myself, not more like everyone else.” As their friendship forms, both girls bond over their shared purpose to give Lucky his sight back. Lily and Selma decide to buy a booth at the local Blueberry Festival selling their painted bee boxes. While Lily worries that Selma’s crazy colors and freehand paint jobs will scare away customers, Selma reminds Lily that sometimes being different is exactly what the world needs.
Lord’s book is full of beautiful insight; her language is moving and strikes the reader’s heart with each page. I’m in awe of writers who can layer their stories, not only with a strong plot, but also with clever dialogue and lyrical prose.

Speaking of layered plot, this book has so many subplots and themes running through it, you’d think it would overwhelm the reader for such a short novel. Nothing could be farther from the truth. While Lily struggles with her identity (or lack thereof), Selma struggles with being invisible. Through these two girls’ insecurities Lord brings attention to diversity. The conversation is not heavy-handed, but as natural as Selma and Lily’s friendship. While Lily has grown up seeing migrant workers come and go with the blueberry season, having a friend that works in the fields makes Lily far more attuned to the subtle prejudices around her. I am so glad that Lord didn’t skirt around the topic of migrant workers, but did her best to illuminate a culture that isn’t widely written about in a middle grade setting.

While Selma teaches Lily about a lot of things (like blueberries), she ultimately teaches Lily how to be brave, which is the heart and soul of this novel. Sometimes we perceive our differences to be weaknesses - something undesirable. The beautiful thing about A Handful of Stars is how it reminds readers that being different and being brave are often the same thing, and that “To do brave things, you don’t have to be hugely brave. You only have to be a little bit braver than you are scared.” Which is a beautiful encouragement to readers of any age.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 3 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
"UNRAVEL THE DUSK is an enchanting sequel and finale to a unique YA fantasy. Maia is a tailor who dreamed..."