Review Detail

Kids Fiction 3162
Enchantingly Eerie
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
One can't possibly claim the title of this book isn't fitting...or exceedingly literal. >.> The story does indeed revolve around a graveyard and its tenants. When a toddler unwittingly wanders away from the scene of his family's murder before the killer finishes his task, he ends up as the protected charge to an eclectic cast of preternatural characters. The story follows the child, Nobody “Bod” Owens, as he goes through childhood within the confines of the graveyard he calls home.

While technically written for children, the book presents themes of murder, suicide, and the grotesque—though it does so non-graphically. While I, as an adult, enjoyed it, I wouldn't consider this one for my children until they're well over the age of 10.

Oddly (or fittingly, depending on how you look at it), the non-living secondary characters had a tendency to feel more “real” to this reader than the living ones. Scarlett, for example—despite a promising introductory start, turned out to be disappointingly flat and obtuse. While on the other hand, Liza the long-dead witch girl, was a vibrant and fascinating addition to Bod's constricted world.

I've been told that Neil Gaiman writes best when he keeps it well below epic length, and I believe I'm going to agree with that assessment. His literary style is (as usual) crisp, concise, and brimming with morbid imagination. This book felt more on par with 'The Ocean at the End of the Lane' --but a bit more playful, and with more effort poured into both the main character and the world-building. On the down side...the second half of story felt a bit dragged out, and the amount of things kept from the reader (and Bod) felt needlessly secretive at times. Without spoilering anything, I'll also mention that when the explanation is finally given, it wasn't entirely satisfying. This reader's expectations were, perhaps, set a bit high.

The element I least cared for would probably be the monochromatic illustrations. While included only occasionally, I didn't particularly like the blandness of the style. There were times the image selected simply didn't feel significant enough to the scene to be worthy of inclusion.

Favorite Quote:

“People want to forget the impossible. It makes their world safer.”
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Whatever Became of the Squishies? (Whatever Became of the Squishies #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Isabelle I was looking for something to inspire my class of 9th graders into exploring books and..."