Review Detail

Kids Fiction 1586
For every child that wants a dog!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
DREAM DOG is the story of a little boy named Harry who desperately wants a dog. Harry cannot have a dog because dogs make his father sneeze. His father sneezes because he works at a pepper factory and his nose has become very sensitive as a result. And so, Harry's father's over-sensitive, itchy, sneezy, irritable nose is the barrier to Harry having a fluffy, friendly, furry companion.

But Harry has a solution. Harry puts on his "X-35 Infra-Rocket Imagination Helmet (that he made himself) and suddenly - a dog! A real, slobbering, wonderful dog is Harry's new best friend. Despite his father's surprise and the denial of a neighbor named Mathilda Hold, Harry knows that his new dog, Waffles, is quite real. They frolic and run and play and have a great time.

But then - Harry's father is fired from the pepper factory. His nose recovers. And he brings home a really real dog for his son, Harry.

How will Harry carry on with two dogs? Will the new dog, Bumber, be friends with Waffles? You'll have to read the story to find out.

DREAM DOG is a delightful story that will enchant young readers. It is absolutely perfect for reading aloud to kids or at library storytimes. The dialogue, in particular, is very fun to say aloud! David Catrow's illustrations are, as always, imaginative, colorful, and fun. DREAM DOG is highly recommended for kids, librarians, and fans of David Catrow.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

The Calling (Endgame #1)
 
3.7
"This book strongly reminded me of the Hunger Games in the way that it's a survival game, only this game..."
A Million Little Pieces
 
3.0
"I highly recommend this book for anyone of any age who wants to be inspired."
A Million Little Pieces
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by Randi I don't know what to say about this book really. I don't really know how..."
A Million Little Pieces
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by lilwolfmisty I read this book and I was very impressed with the authors facing his demons and..."