Review Detail

Inside information about a popular series
Overall rating
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
This companion to the series that begins with The Fire Within and goes for seven books is an assortment of recaps of the different books, explanations of the mythology used, lists of characters and terms used, and biographical information written by the author's wife about how he came to write the books. This struck me, as The Fire Within (2001)did, as a particularly English book, much like the Jacqueline Wilson autobiography/memoir. I am not entirely sure that US students want to know this much information about the authors of books, but there has been an odd resurgence in the popularity of these titles in my middle school library lately. It was good to find out that I was absolutely correct that the first book is really about squirrels and that the US edition was very wrongly reset in Boston!
Good Points
Avid readers of this series will be very interested in the additional information not only about the author and his path to publication, but about the characters in the books and the mythology behind them. Photos of places that inspired the fictional sites are fun, too.
Report this review Was this review helpful? 0 0


Already have an account? or Create an account