Review Detail

Homesick Featured
Kids Fiction 3171
And you think you have problems...
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Benny's mother has finally had it with the junk that his father brings home, especially since he has lost the "store" he was renting to keep it all. She moves out, leaving Benny to try to keep his father in line. Luckily, his very small town has some other supportive adults; his father's friend Myron hires Benny to work at his fledgling radio station, so he can pay the phone bill, his teacher brings him clothing and personal hygiene items, and he is able to confide some of his troubles to his friend Stormy. When one of the teachers enters a contest for America's Most Charming Small Town, his father's messy house (and we're talking SO messy that his father takes all the interior doors off at one point because they take too much room to open and there are rats in the house) comes under attack. Miss Turnipson wasn't completely truthful in her account of Dennis Acres, portraying it as a place with a fountain, gardens, and English thatched roof cottages, so when the town wins and officials are on their way to look at the town and give every household a new computer that will ONE DAY be able to hook up to a world wide network, the town scrambles to fix things up. Can Benny keep it together until his mother comes back to take care of him?

Good Points
Appealing story, very good sense of place, and a problem that an unfortunate number of children have to deal with make this a book that lends itself to class discussion.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...

Latest Member Reviews

The Spelling Bee and Me: A Real-Life Adventure in Learning
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Kim Peek This book provides solid introductory information on how to prepare for and what to expect..."