Review Detail

Kids Fiction 1156
Not Another Goodnight Moon
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Maybe it isn't fair of me to judge this book against Goodnight Moon, but I purchased it to read to my toddler simply because it was written by the same author as Goodnight Moon, and the titles sounded similar enough to lead me to expect that it would be the same lyrical magic that causes her eyes to droop closed every night as we read together.

It isn't.

Don't get me wrong, it's a nice little story, and one of the positives about this book is that it can be a nice introduction to mulitplication. And I also think parents can use this as a springboard to discuss their own family tree with a child, so that's lovely too. But the prose doesn't have that musical, lyrical quality that so draws my daughter to Goodnight Moon. And the illustrations get a little strange in the last few pages.

Overall, this is a nice book for occasional reading, but won't be a bedtime classic any time soon.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...

Latest Member Reviews

Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Smashy Town
 
5.0
"SMASHY TOWN is a huge hit for young readers! The book follows Mr. Gilly as he demolishes some old buildings..."
Diggersaurs Explore (Diggersaurs)
 
5.0
"DIGGERSAURS EXPLORE is a delightful sequel to the book taking the toddler world by storm! Whether you have a little..."
Diggersaurs
 
5.0
"DIGGERSAURS is perfect for children who love dinosaurs, construction vehicles, bright colors, and/or fun, rhyming phrases. This book re-imagines construction..."
Dig, Dogs, Dig
 
4.0
"In this colorful book for emergent readers, a team of construction dogs gather their equipment and set out to build..."