Review Detail

Kids Fiction 1424
It Was Ok
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0
This is a fast-paced comic that reminded me of a bit of Diary of a Wimpy Kid (nerd w/nerdy friend who want to be something more and are bullied) but with the super power/government experiment twist and with far less charm and humor. Of course, in a comic aimed at younger kids, character development is almost non-existant and the parents of any kid involved in the experiment are nowhere to be found. I understand that, and don't think it detracts from the adventure.

There was an obvious shout out to the Hulk as the school is named Banner Elementary and Chip's main super hero move is the Rockhead Smash. I found myself underwhelmed that his entire super power existed of having someone give him a push forward so he could smash into things. Especially when his first super hero act was to rescue all of his classmates from escaped zoo animals by smashing into them and dazing/injuring them enough to render them harmless for a while. It was underwhelming.

I was confused as to how the general in charge of the experiment could sneak into Chip's school, tie up the nurse, and give Chip a shot of experimental stuff but then couldn't manage to take Chip captive like he did every other kid he experimented on. The solution the general finally comes up with is silly in many ways.

However, that's me responding to this as an adult. As a young kid? I'd probably eat this up with a spoon. Kids with superish powers all joining together to take down the evil grown up AND the school bully? Yes, please. So, take what I have to say with a grain of salt if you're looking at this for younger readers.

I'm a huge fan of comic books and graphic novels, and I usually enjoy the illustrations in Capstone's books, but this time I found the illustrations as underwhelming as the story. Some strange geometric stuff going on with Chip's face. And a lack of nuance and detail in the background and in the color scheme that left me wanting more.

Overall, this is a middle of the road book for me. I didn't hate it, I didn't love it, and I think it might be the right book for a different reader.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"This book is absolutely adorable. Dragons can suddenly show up wherever the characters are and they have to..."
More than Marmalade: Michael Bond and the Story of Paddington Bear
 
5.0
"More than Marmalade is such a PRECIOUS book. It’s rare that I read a book in one sitting nowadays (due..."
Star Wars: Jedi Academy: Attack of the Furball
 
5.0
"Have you ever tried to sneak a pet home past your parents? Did you think you could keep that pet..."
Spider-Man: Far From Home: Peter and Ned's Ultimate Travel Journal
 
5.0
"Spider-Man: Far From Home: Peter and Ned's Ultimate Travel Journal by Preeti Chhibber is a fun, beautifully illustrated read for..."
The Bedtime Book
 
5.0
"THE BEDTIME BOOK is a charming picture book that follows Mouse and Frank (the dog) as they try to find..."
Grandpa's Stories
 
4.5
"Both heart-wrenching and soul-soothing, this vibrantly illustrated story is a sort of basic introduction to the concept and impact of..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Amelia Bedelia & Friends: Beat the Clock
 
5.0
"Brilliant. This was the perfect book to read with my five year old niece. It's every bit as..."
Amelia Bedelia & Friends: The Cat's Meow
 
5.0
"Cute and Fun There's no end to the adorableness of Amelia Bedelia and this book is no different. Amelia..."
The Cook and the King
 
4.0
"'The Cook and the King' by Julia Donaldson, illustrated by David Roberts, is a cute story that shows how working..."
Dias y Dias/Days and Days
 
4.0
"'Dias y Dias, Days and Days' by Ginger Foglesong Guy, illustrated by Rene King Moreno, is a simple story that..."
Everybody Says Meow
 
N/A
"What I Loved: This is one of those books that you can't help but smile while you read, even..."
Goldilocks For Dinner
 
5.0
"What I loved: The illustrations in this book are unique and eye catching, engaging the children from the outset. The..."
This Is Not That Kind of Book
 
4.5
"THIS IS NOT THAT KIND OF BOOK is a humorous jaunt through book genres and classification with some messages about..."
Smile: How Young Charlie Chaplin Taught the World to Laugh (and Cry)
 
4.0
"'Smile: How Young Charlie Chaplin Taught the World to Laugh (and Cry)' by Gary Golio, illustrated by Ted Young, is..."
Even Monsters Go To School
 
5.0
"This book is so completely adorable it's hard to figure out where to begin. The story is about..."
Can Cat and Bird Be Friends
 
3.5
"This was an odd one. Cat and bird are trying to determine if they can be friends or..."
Cece Loves Science and Adventure
 
5.0
"Books about girls who love science are always winners! Cece and her friends are trying to win their..."
Hannah Sparkles: Hooray For the First Day of School
 
5.0
"This book is absolutely adorable. Hannah is starting first grade and excited about making friends. Only, every time..."
Turtle and Tortoise Are Not Friends
 
3.5
"Turtle and Tortoise Are Not Friends is a cute children's book that kids will like simply for the fact that..."