Review Detail

Kids Fiction 3940
Absolutely Amazing!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Miranda and Sal have been best friends since they were
babies, but on the day Sal gets punched in the stomach everything changes.  Sal no longer wants to hang out and she cant
figure out why.  Now Miranda has lost
someone who felt like a part of her, and to make it worse she has to walk by
the crazy laughing man on the corner all by herself.  When Miranda was with Sal, she could deal
with the crazy guy and his muttering and kicking but alone hes just too
scary.  When Annemarie, another girl in
her class, loses her best friend she and Miranda become friends.  Annemarie isnt a replacement for Sal, but
shes close enough.



On top of losing Sal, Miranda starts finding strange notes
hidden in her things that warn her of an impending tragedy.  How does the note-writer know that Mirandas
mom will be chosen to appear on the tv show The $20,000 Pyramid, or what shell
get for Christmas?  And why does the
note-writer warn her not to share the notes with anyone else? 



Even though Miranda makes new friends, and finds that the
boy who punched Sal really isnt all that bad, she has to solve the mystery of the
notes on her own.  Can she do it before
tragedy strikes?



Rebecca Stead has created a beautifully written work in When You Reach Me.  Set in New York City in 1978, this book is a
mixture of mystery and coming-of-age tale. 
Mirandas feelings when she loses Sal's friendship are shown with a depth that makes
the heart ache.  The mystery swirling
around the notes is intricately developed and detailed.  At the very end everything comes together, and
then you may just want to turn back to the first page and read the story again.  When
You Reach Me
is a masterpiece, and I highly recommend it. 



Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
Two Worlds of Redemption (Two Worlds, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
Two Worlds of Oblivion (Two Worlds, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

To All The Boys I've Loved Before
 
4.0
"This is one of the very few times I will ever say this but here we go.... I preferred the..."
My True Love Gave To Me
 
4.3
"I admit that I’m not a big anthology fan. I find the stories in them are hit and miss. ‘My..."
P.S. I Still Love You
 
5.0
"all i can feel about this book is envy... this book is just written so well. it still has the..."
To All The Boys I've Loved Before
 
4.7
"i'm finally done! i read this with a very slow start which i think is becoming a routine for me...."
My True Love Gave To Me
 
4.3
"Christmas has to be one of my all-time favorite holidays. I also love short story anthologies. Put the..."
To All The Boys I've Loved Before
 
4.0
"Lara Jen Covey has a secret. She writes letters to the boys she’s crushing on, seals them, and hides them..."
To All The Boys I've Loved Before
 
5.0
"I ended up finishing it in one night. I was immediately in love with this book. To all the boys..."
To All The Boys I've Loved Before
 
3.3
" Favorite Quotes: • “I don’t have to be so afraid of good-bye, because good-bye doesn’t have..."
P.S. I Still Love You
 
4.3
"MY THOUGHTS I adored the first book! It was the perfect contemporary, but thee ending just wasn't an ending! I..."
P.S. I Still Love You
 
4.0
"Adjusting to real dating after fake dating is a harder change than both Lara Jean and Peter expected. With old..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
5.0
"I love Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian, and so when I saw this I could not contain my joy. This..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
3.7
"I love revenge stories. There’s just something so liberating about exacting your revenge upon someone who has wronged you –..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
3.0
"Why I Loved It: At the risk of being cliche, revenge has never been so sweet. I read..."
The Summer I Turned Pretty
 
4.3
"This book is another one that sat on my shelf ever since July 2012 and I wish I read it..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
2.7
"I'm sad to say I'm a little disappointed after finihing urn for Burn. With all the hype surrounding the author..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
3.7
"I decided to switch things up a bit from my normal reading this month, and try Burn for Burn ..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
4.3
"Boys are just familiar with it. Girls know it. And that's why they do it better. Three girls, three stories,..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
3.0
"Who has time for Karma to work her magic? Definitely not the leading ladies in Burn For Burn. Told in..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
2.7
" Jenny Han has always been one of my favorite authors. I often find myself reaching for her Summer series..."
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
 
4.3
"Wow. This is a pretty intense read. I mean...when I got done with the book, I sort of stared at..."