Review Detail

Kids Fiction 1240
Perfect For Idol Fans!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Iryna

Charlie
is a would-be singing star whose mixed up family keeps standing in her
way. Shes embarrassed by her younger brother, Nicholas, whos a little
"slow," and fed up by her mother who runs off to the casino every
chance she gets. Her friend Matt is there to help, and she can count on
her friend Shannon too. Or can she?

Somehow her crazy life gets spread across the internet.

Charlie
doesnt want to show her face at school again, but that would mean
losing her spot in Teen Idol, the schools singing competition. Alessa
would love that. After all, she plans on winning the competition and
would stop at nothing to defeat Charlie.

Suddenly Charlie finds herself in grave danger with more to lose than Teen Idol... She could lose her life!


One
of the things that I like best about Joy Lynn Goddard that I don't find
in many other authors is that she writes about real life situations
that happen every day. Fires, kidnappings, stalkers, cyber-bullying . .
. basically anything and everything that you read about in the
newspaper. She takes these pieces of reality and weaves them into a
wonderful story that A) not only tells us how to get us out of fire
alive but also B) entertains us and warns us about these dangers.

"Charlie's
Song" is a real page turner that I'm sure anyone can relate to. Unlike,
Joy Lynn Goddard's first book - "Daredevils" - the characters felt a
lot more real. I also like how she made a series connecting each book
by characters, not actions and events. Does that make sense?

However,
I noticed that Joy Lynn Goddard tried to incorporate some of our
generations' sayings and expressions. That would make sense since this
is a YA novel, but Joy seemed to either use expressions that were quite
out of date or she used them in the wrong place at the wrong time.
But besides that I found this novel very enjoyable and I thought the
way she wrote the ending was very unique (in a good way!) and different.

I am giving this book an A-.


Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...

Latest Member Reviews

Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Smashy Town
 
5.0
"SMASHY TOWN is a huge hit for young readers! The book follows Mr. Gilly as he demolishes some old buildings..."
Diggersaurs Explore (Diggersaurs)
 
5.0
"DIGGERSAURS EXPLORE is a delightful sequel to the book taking the toddler world by storm! Whether you have a little..."
Diggersaurs
 
5.0
"DIGGERSAURS is perfect for children who love dinosaurs, construction vehicles, bright colors, and/or fun, rhyming phrases. This book re-imagines construction..."
Dig, Dogs, Dig
 
4.0
"In this colorful book for emergent readers, a team of construction dogs gather their equipment and set out to build..."