Review Detail

Kids Fiction 1261
I Would Reccomend For Hockey Lovers.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Iryna

Lizzie
loves playing hockey, despite being stuck on a boys team with
teammates who treat her like dirt. When Trevor and Sean hide her
equipment before a big game, shes forced to sit on the bench, and her
dream of winning the Most Valuable Goalie award seems way out of reach.

Added
to her troubles is Tara, a creepy teenager with blue nails and skunk
hair who is about to become Lizzies stepsister. Lizzie is supposed to
make her feel like one of the family, although Tara makes Lizzie feel
miserable every chance she gets.


Alex,
a weird kid from the team, helps Lizzie plot against her enemies,
dreaming up a plan that makes Trevor look like a jerk in front of all
his friends. But Alex never imagines the disastrous outcome it begins
with a dare and ends when Alex plunges into the Niagara Gorge. Does he
survive?

Faced
with the roaring falls, the billowing mist, and the darkness that fills
the gorge, the rescue team almost gives up on Alex. But Lizzie doesnt.
Remembering the tunnels running under the falls, she risks everything
to save him even her life.


I'm going to be honest with you up front - this isn't my favourite Joy Lynn Goddard book. In fact, this probably my least
favourite book. I absolutely adore all of Joy's other books but I just
don't really like "Daredevils". Don't get me wrong, you should totally
check out some of this author's books from the library, but it's up to
you to decide if you should read "Daredevils."

This novel has a
pretty good start and I thought the idea of Alex falling in the gorge
was excellent. I noticed right away that Joy Lynn Goddard does a really
good job of showing, not telling, but I felt like I really didn't know
the characters that well. I also personally think that the excerpt on
the back of the book gave away a bit too much. However, considering the
fact that this is the author's first book, I think she did a great job.
My first book would probably be much, much worse.

I also loved
the ending. It was a little predictable but Joy wrote it so that I
forgot about my prediction and simply enjoyed the story.

Even
though the main characters in this book are a little younger then in
most YA novels, I'm sure that anyone can enjoy this story so I'm giving
it a B.


Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
Permanent Record
 
4.0
"In many ways, Permanent Record confused me, irritated me at times, maybe even angered me a little, but eventually wowed..."
Goodbye from Nowhere
 
4.7
"Kyle Baker loves the times he visits his extended family at the family farm. He brings his girlfriend Nadia with..."
Just a Boy and a Girl in a Little Canoe
 
4.7
"JUST A BOY AND A GIRL IN A LITTLE CANOE is a YA contemporary fiction that is primarily about character..."
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
"At age twelve, Julia starts writing in a diary. She writes about what she witnesses in her town of Juarez,..."
Where I End and You Begin
 
4.0
"All Ezra wants to do is ask his crush Imogen to the prom. But when he and his friend Holden..."
The Last True Poets of the Sea
 
5.0
"THE LAST TRUE POETS OF THE SEA is a beautiful coming-of-age story. After her brother attempts suicide, he is sent..."
No Place Like Here
 
4.7
"When Ashlyn’s father goes to prison and her mother goes to rehab for depression, her world falls apart. Ashlyn’s father..."
No Place Like Here
 
4.0
"NO PLACE LIKE HERE is an engaging and summery YA contemporary that emphasizes healing and friendship. Ashlyn is at the..."
No Place Like Here
 
3.0
"NO PLACE LIKE HERE by Christina June is a YA contemporary novel set in the Pennsylvania wilderness. Ashlyn, an admittedly..."
Hidden Pieces
 
4.0
"As of chapter one, Embry is a senior in high school, a girl feeling adrift as Christmas approaches, and the..."
Night Music
 
5.0
"NIGHT MUSIC is a beautiful YA coming-of-age/romance that brings classical music front and center. Ruby Chertok is the youngest of..."
The Geography of Lost Things
 
4.0
"THE GEOGRAPHY OF LOST THINGS by Jessica Brody is a YA contemporary novel that begins with Ali needing to sell..."
A Sky for Us Alone
 
3.3
"A SKY FOR US ALONE by Kristin Russell is a YA coming-of-age novel filled with mystery and heartache. It’s set..."
Mother Tongue
 
5.0
"As MOTHER TONGUE by Julie Mayhew begins, eighteen-year-old Darya envisions the bits of freedom she'll enjoy once her little sister,..."
Unstoppable Moses
 
5.0
"Feedback I am going to admit that I would have never picked up this book if I wasn’t provided a..."
Aesop Lake
 
5.0
"I loved this book. As a mom of a gay child, I was very happy to read a realistic story..."
Going Places
 
4.0
"GOING PLACES by Kathryn Berla is a coming-of-age novel that follows Hudson Wheeler through his senior year of high school...."
Hidden Pieces
 
4.3
"I loved Stokes’ Girl Against the Universe, and was very excited to hear she was coming out with another book!..."
Twice Dead
 
5.0
"Feedback I absolutely loved this story! This book was never boring and always kept me wanting more. The beginning..."