Review Detail

Kids Fiction 1443
Thirteen: A Little Young
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by designsbymikayla

"Thirteen" by Lauren Myracle is one book of a series. It is one installment in the series about Winny, her cooky family, and friends. Finally Winny is a teenager but, just when things should be going great, they get unexpectedly complicated. Her friends are going in opposite directions, her boyfriend, Lars, is fabulous, some of the time, and her mother is pregnant. So much is changing, its almost too much for Winny to bear. But, she manages, with the help of her friends, a breakup and a get-together, and a new sister. There sure are a lot of changes in the air.

In my opinion, this book is intersting but a little juvenile. I came into this series without reading the prior books; however, that didn't seem to affect the reading experience. Overall, the characters seemed too different. For example, Dinah is not maturing and Cinnamon is. Yes, this is supposed to be one of the main points of the book, but, I have never met a 13 year-old as immature as Dinah. They all need to grow up a little more before boyfriends are introduced into the mix. The home situation for Winny makes it interesting. The unexpected pregnancy of her mother is a very relatable situation, making the book even more relatable. In considering the entire book, I would say that, though it was not a total waste of time to read, it did seem a different from my normal reading and not in a good way. The ages just didn't fit the characters and the plot was slow. I suppose it would be better for someone between the ages of 10 and 12--I guess I'm just too old.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found