Interview with Tashie Bhuiyan (A Show for Two)

Today we are very excited to share an interview with Author Tashie Bhuiyan (A SHOW FOR TWO):

 

Meet Tashie Bhuiyan:

Tashie Bhuiyan is a Bangladeshi American writer based in New York City and is the author of Counting Down with You. She recently graduated from St. John’s University with a bachelor’s degree in Public Relations, and hopes to change the world, one book at a time. She loves writing stories about girls with wild hearts, boys who wear rings, and gaining agency through growth. When she’s not doing that, she can be found in a Chipotle or bookstore, insisting 2010 is the best year in cinematic history. (Read: Tangled and Inception.) Visit her online at @tashiebhuiyan or tashiebhuiyan.com.

 

 

About the Book : A Show for Two

 

From the author of Counting Down with You comes a new swoony YA romance about an indie film star who enrolls in high school under a secret identity, and the girl who will do whatever it takes to convince him to star in her short film. Perfect for fans of Emma Lord and Leah Johnson.

 

Mina Rahman has a plan for her future:

  • Finally win the Golden Ivy student film competition
  • Get into her dream school across the country
  • Leave New York City behind once and for all

Mina’s ticket to winning the competition falls into her lap when indie film star—and known heartbreaker—Emmitt Ramos enrolls in her high school under a secret identity to research his next role. When Mina sets out to persuade Emmitt to join her cause, he offers her a deal instead: he’ll be in her short film…if she acts as a tour guide to help him with a photography contest.

As Mina ventures across the five boroughs with Emmitt by her side, the city she grew up in starts to look different and more like home than it ever has before. With the competition deadline looming, Mina’s dreams—which once seemed impenetrable—begin to crumble, and she’s forced to ask herself: Is winning worth losing everything?

 

Amazon

 

 

~Author Chat~

 

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

This book is inspired by when a famous actor (Tom Holland!!!) went undercover as a student at MY high school during my senior year. I thought the idea of an undercover celebrity would be an amazing book concept and here we are!

YABC: Who is your favorite character in the book?

Oh, definitely the main character Mina, without a doubt. Her growth makes me so happy and proud. I feel like I really know her and that she’s my silly little child and watching her learn and grow and become the best version of herself is everything to me!

YABC: Which came first, the title or the novel?

The title!! There’s a scene in the book where the title is name-dropped and it’s actually the first scene I ever wrote for the book.

YABC: What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

Definitely the scene on the cover. It’s a scene where Mina and her love interest Emmitt really connect for the first time and realize how much they have in common and that they’re both chasing their dreams no matter what it might cost them.

YABC: What do you like most about the cover of the book?

How am I supposed to choose!? I love the way Mina and Emmitt are depicted, they’re both captured perfectly! But I also really love the colors and the blend of the sky and the sunset. But I ALSO really love the New York City skyline, since this book is a love letter to NYC. Everything about it is perfect in my eyes!

YABC: What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2022?

I’m looking forward to Godslayers by Zoe Hana Mikuta and Foul Lady Fortune by Chloe Gong!

YABC: What’s a book you’ve recently read and loved?

Ophelia After All by Racquel Marie is absolutely a book I’d recommend to everyone.

YABC:   Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

I think all of the scenes with Mina’s parents were very difficult to write because they have a really complicated relationship and it draws from a very personal place for me. I usually had to set those scenes aside and wait until I was emotionally ready to tackle them before writing them.

YABC:    What is the main message or lesson you would like your reader to remember from this book?

I hope that readers come away from this book with a feeling of hope, but also the realization that none of us can truly run from our problems, and that we have to find the people and places that make us happy and make us feel loved, because that’s what home really is!

 

 

Book’s Title: A Show for Two

Author: Tashie Bhuiyan

Release Date: May 10, 2022

Publisher: Inkyard Press

 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.