Indie Superstars with the Author of Flame and Crystal Thorns + GIVEAWAY (International)

Welcome to YA Books Central’s “Indie Superstars” column. This monthly event will spotlight the best and brightest of the indie community.

You don’t want to miss out on these talented authors!

 

This week we’re interviewing Kay L. Moody, Author of Flame and Crystal Thorns.

 

 

Caitlin Haines: Can you tell us a little about Flame and Crystal Thorns?

Kay L. Moody: Flame & Crystal Thorns it the first book in a brand new series. It has fae, a dangerous and magical world, and an enemies to lovers romantic subplot. It’s perfect for readers who love Throne of Glass, Once Upon a Broken Heart, and The Cruel Prince.

 

Caitlin: Where did the inspiration come from?

Kay: Even though this is a brand new series, it’s actually a spin off to one of my previous series. My first fae series, The Fae of Bitter Thorn, follows Elora as she makes a bargain and journeys through Faerie. At the end of my Fae of Bitter Thorn series, I realized one of the side characters, Chloe, had a story of her own that needed to be told. Chloe traveled back to the mortal realm at the end of that series with no intention of ever returning to Faerie…but of course, a promise like that was just asking to be broken. 😉 Chloe is the main character of Flame and Crystal Thorns, and as you might have guessed, she does return to Faerie.

 

Caitlin: What is it about fantasy that draws you in so much?

Kay: I love how easy it is to escape reality when I’m reading a fantasy book. Since the worlds are completely different from the real world, it’s easy to forget reality while I’m reading. I also love the magic and the mythical creatures that bring richness to fantasy stories.

 

Caitlin: Who is your favorite character in this book and why?

Kay: The main character, Chloe, is definitely my favorite. Her love interest is a close second, but I really love how Chloe is sassy and determined. I also love that she is strong, but not in the traditional sense of the word. She has great inner strength and uses her head to solve problems instead of a weapon or fists.

 

Caitlin: If you were thrown into this human vs. faerie war, which side would you want to be on?

Kay: This is such a hard question! The leaders guiding the mortals are definitely not good people. They do not have good intentions, but all the rest of the mortals do. They just want to be free. On the other hand, Faerie belongs to the fae, and they certainly have a right to defend themselves when the mortals try to take over. All I can really say is, the line between who is right and who is wrong is only going to get blurrier as the series progresses.

 

Caitlin: What’s one thing you have to have while writing (music, quiet, snacks, coffee, etc.)?

Kay: I absolutely need no distractions. I get distracted so easily to the point where it’s almost embarrassing. When I have a deadline looming, I sometimes have to send my family away, turn off the internet, and turn on some white noise or else I can’t get anything done. I also sometimes listen to epic fantasy-type music when I write. It can help set the tone, especially when I’m writing a battle scene.

 

Caitlin: Can you give us a hint at what’s to come next? Is this a series?

Kay: Yes, Flame and Crystal Thorns is the first book in what is currently planned to be a five-book series. These characters are just barely beginning their adventures together.

 

Caitlin: Do you have any special editions or formats for this book?

Kay: The most popular edition is definitely the exclusive hardcover. This can be purchased anywhere the hardcover is sold, which is available on most online retailers. The exclusive hardcover edition has a very special under-the-dust-jacket design featuring a tapestry-like cover on the front and a gorgeous illustration of the two main characters on the back. The illustration was done by @artbyartemis. The exclusive hardcover edition also has a bonus chapter from the love interest’s perspective. Flame & Crystal Thorns is also available as an eBook, paperback, and audio book.

 

Meet Kay L. Moody

 

 

Kay L. Moody is the YA fantasy author of COURT OF BITTER THORN and THE ELEMENTS OF THE CROWN. Her books feature rich world building, slow burn romance, mythical creatures, and twisty plots.

As a lover of strong female characters, books, and the color pink, she enjoys diving into magical worlds where characters can overcome even their darkest struggles. She lives in the western United States with her husband and four sons. Connect with Kay directly when you follow her on social media @kaylmoody

Visit her website to learn more.

KayLMoody.com

FacebookInstagram | TikTok | Website

 

Giveaway

She vowed she’d never return to Faerie…
But vows were made to be broken.

As a human girl, Chloe is perfectly happy being back in the mortal realm where she belongs. She’s even become the town apothecary. When a fae from her past shows up begging her to return to Faerie, she utterly refuses.

But then she finds out an angry group of mortals are using iron to hold an entire castle full of fae hostage. And of course, the hostages include Chloe’s older sister and her sister’s beloved.

Reluctantly, Chloe packs a bag for what is supposed to be a short trip to Faerie.

But the mortals are more powerful than she expected. To fuel them, they have weapons, flames, and revenge. They won’t stop until they control every court in Faerie.

With the help of a new and mysterious magic and a devastatingly handsome fae companion, Chloe has to save Faerie before her sister and the other fae are killed.

If you like the rich world building of Throne of Glass, the enemies to lovers romance of Once Upon a Broken Heart, and the mythical creatures and twisty plot of The Cruel Prince, then you’ll devour Kay L. Moody’s breathtaking new young adult epic fantasy series.

Flame and Crystal Thorns is the first book in a new YA fae romance series. This is a spin off of The Fae of Bitter Thorn series by Kay L. Moody. It features a few appearances and minor spoilers from The Fae of Bitter Thorn, but it also stands alone as its own series. It can be read without any prior knowledge or reading of The Fae of Bitter Thorn.

 

Enter to win a paperback copy of Flame and Crystal Thorns
(International) in this

Rafflecopter giveaway!

6 thoughts on “Indie Superstars with the Author of Flame and Crystal Thorns + GIVEAWAY (International)”

  1. Morgan says:

    This cover immediately caught my eye, and after reading the synopsis I am happy to announce that I have added this to my tbr

  2. I love everything about this book! I can not wait to read it. I love the Fae world!

  3. mishmash says:

    Looks so good

  4. The cover is beautiful and the synopsis sounds exciting.

  5. Morgan Jones says:

    I mean I’d pick up any book with Fae in it but this looks great! Can’t wait to read.

  6. That is really an amazing cover! My daughter would love this!
    Carolsue

Comments are closed.