Unspoken (The Lynburn Legacy #1)

FeaturedHot
 
3.7 (2)
 
4.0 (6)
3873 1

User reviews

3 reviews with 3 stars

6 reviews

 
(2)
 
(1)
 
(3)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.7  (6)
Characters 
 
4.0  (6)
Writing Style 
 
4.2  (6)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
3 results - showing 1 - 3
Ordering
Unspoken
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Really 3.5 Stars
Background: Kami has always had an imaginary friend. His name is Jared and she talks to him and tells him all her fears, troubles, and going-ons. He answers and talks back and tells her about his life too. For a long time she has kept him a secret, because as a teen you shouldn't have an imaginary friend. Everything explodes when Kami realizes that Jared is a real person and he has moved into her town. Sorry-in-the-Vale is a strange town, full of secrets and mysteries about Jared's family. Kami is on a mission to find out those answers and report back to the community.

Review: This was a fun read, very Nancy Drew meets Twilight... the only reason Twilight is the example is because of a mysterious boy who can hear thoughts, in this case only Kami's thoughts. I really enjoyed the build up of this book, it was a mystery, and the answers unraveled slowly, always making the reader want more. Kami is eccentric, fast-paced, a reporter for the school paper and fun; her friend Angela is pessimistic, always napping, and brooding about how people annoy her, and Jared is dark, mysterious, and yet playful and emotional with Kami. It was a wonderful lineup of characters.
So... why three point five stars... the build up was great, the characters were awesome and fun to follow...really the ending is what irked me. All the mysterious pieces start to form a clear picture of what is happening, the characters develop, and then...... the characters failed me.....(sad face) I was so upset. I know that this will be a series and there is more to come, and I know that the cliff hanger is doable, but not in this fashion. I wanted to punch Jared and scream...well I did scream and if the book had been a physical copy it would have been thrown due to frustration.

I think is this a great book...very good writing and like I said, every part is captivating, except that I was left disappointed at the ending
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brenan
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
This was definitely a fun read. As someone who studied journalism, I could understand Kami and her need to know everything. I connected with her right away. Even if I did think she was a llittle crazy in the beginning.
When we first meet Kami Glass she has just sstarted the school newspaper with her best friend. She tells her other friend all about it, but he just so happens to be in her mind. Yes you read right, in her mind. Kami has an imaginary friend named Jared who she has been teased and lost friends over since she was a little girl. Then one day she meets a boy named Ash Lynbourn. The Lynbourns are an old family that left town a long time ago, but have mysteriously come back for some unknown reason. Ash wants to join the newspaper and Kami wants an interview about them, so she allows him to join. Everything is going fine, until his cousin comes along. His cousin is nothing like him and gets into a fight with the Cricket team. Kami goes to interview him for the paper after the fight and low and behold , his name is Jared. She believes its a huge coincidence... Until they're in the same place at the same time and their thoughts finally collide.....
Man the premise of this book was AH-MAZEING! When I saw "And now that her imaginary friend has become a real boy..." I knew I had to read this. It seems so dramatic and wonderful that I had to know what happens. But it was a lot different from what I was expecting. It turned out that this was more funny than the synopsis made it seem. I remember thinking "Is this a parody?" because I was laughing so hard. Kami is really a weird character and I loved that I was able to connect with her. Another thing that I loved about her, was the fact that she was Asian. Yay for diversity! Not every character in every YA book has to be the same race.
One thing I do wish was different was the setting. I wish it was described more. I was pulled to Kami's world, but not completely as I could not see anything of the setting. All I saw was what was going on. I've never been to England, so I was excited about actually seeing it from Kami's point of view.
Finally, I loved the big secret towards the end. Another thing that sets the book apart from other books that I've read. Jared and Kami haven't been all over each other and the situation that's going on isn't about Kami or Jared being a werewolf or vampire. It was a refreshing way to add something different to my paranormal fetish.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Modern day Nancy Drew/ Imaginary Friends
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Background: Kami has always had an imaginary friend. His name is Jared and she talks to him and tells him all her fears, troubles, and going-ons. He answers and talks back and tells her about his life too. For a long time she has kept him a secret, because as a teen you shouldn't have an imaginary friend. Everything explodes when Kami realizes that Jared is a real person and he has moved into her town. Sorry-in-the-Vale is a strange town, full of secrets and mysteries about Jared's family. Kami is on a mission to find out those answers and report back to the community.

Review: This was a fun read, very Nancy Drew meets Twilight... the only reason Twilight is the example is because of a mysterious boy who can hear thoughts, in this case only Kami's thoughts. I really enjoyed the build up of this book, it was a mystery, and the answers unraveled slowly, always making the reader want more. Kami is eccentric, fast-paced, a reporter for the school paper and fun; her friend Angela is pessimistic, always napping, and brooding about how people annoy her, and Jared is dark, mysterious, and yet playful and emotional with Kami. It was a wonderful lineup of characters.
So... why three point five stars... the build up was great, the characters were awesome and fun to follow...really the ending is what irked me. All the mysterious pieces start to form a clear picture of what is happening, the characters develop, and then...... the characters failed me.....(sad face) I was so upset. I know that this will be a series and there is more to come, and I know that the cliff hanger is doable, but not in this fashion. I wanted to punch Jared and scream...well I did scream and if the book had been a physical copy it would have been thrown due to frustration.

I think is this a great book...very good writing and like I said, every part is captivating, except that I was left disappointed at the ending
Good Points
Fun, mysterious, characters are interesting...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
3 results - showing 1 - 3
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
"I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."