To Kill a Mockingbird

Hot
 
0.0
 
4.6 (49)
3472 2

User reviews

24 reviews with 5 stars

49 reviews

 
(24)
 
(16)
 
(7)
 
(1)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Plot 
 
4.3  (49)
Characters 
 
4.8  (6)
Writing Style 
 
4.8  (6)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
24 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2 3
Ordering
The best book I ever read!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
at first i was like,"well,here we go this is going to be a long book.' But was i wrong! i love this book! Ms.Lee really took you into Maycomb County in 1930s Alabama and into Scout Finch's life. I couldnt put the book down. i loved this book and hope you do to!
Good Points
The plot,characters,and the writing was the best! I love this book!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Classic.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I read this in my junior year of high school, and I still love it. It is something that you never forget.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A great book for sure
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I love this book
Good Points
This book is awesome I have not read this great of a book since 9th grade.I need to get this book and also reread this great classic of a book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Moving story
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I read this book a few years ago, but I loved it. I need to read it again. It's beautifully written with a powerful message and some of the most likable characters in fiction.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A Favorite Classic
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
This tense, atmospheric gem of a story takes place in a southern setting that is so real I feel like I could walk out my front door and see Boo Radley hiding behind his curtains in the house on my corner. I love the sense of adventure, honor, and family love that permeates this story. The deeper issues of prejudice and true justice are always worth looking at, and seeing them through the eyes of a child makes it that much more poignant. A wonderful book that everyone should read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Amazing book
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by mike pursley

To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee, is most definitely one of the most amazing books I've ever read. Though the book looks small, the book is filled with life lessons on the tensions between races and classes, your morals with your fellow man, and the basic essence of the bliss and naivety of a little girl.

The book is from the point of view of Scout, a tomboy who watches her father, Atticus, a lawyer, go through a trial that he knows he can't win. He is supporting a black man accused of raping a local white woman. Through the story, you realize the true moral courage of Atticus that can bring tears to your eyes. His opinions on the equality of people and true human courage are what make the book a fantastic read.

I advise the book to absolutely anyone because it is not hard to read and any child can understand the experiences Scout goes through as she grows up.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
True classic!!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Vel

To Kill a Mockingbird is my favorite book out of all the books i've ever had to read for school. Usually they don't interest me, but this one did. I especially liked that it was from a girl's point of view and all the stuff with Boo Radley. There was a lot of suspense in the book.

Atticus was really cool too, especially how he trusted his kids and you could tell he really cared about people. I thought it was a good way to learn about history and things like that too.

I recommend this book for readers of any age. I think adults would like it too. My mom said there was even a movie.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
This is one of my favorite books!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Billy Burgess

To Kill A Mocking Bird takes place during the three years of the Great Depression in Maycomb, Alabama.  The narrator, six-year-old Scout Finch, lives with her older brother, Jem, their widowed father Atticus, a lawyer.  They befriend a boy named Dill who visits his aunt for the summer.  The three of them are scared to death and fascinated with their neighbor  "Boo" Radley.  Very few people have seen Boo. 

During the next two summers, the kids finds that someone is leaving them small gifts in a hollow tree outside the Radley place. 

The court appoints Atticus to defend Tom Robinson.  The town doesn't like the idea that Atticus is defending a black man and causes trouble for the Finch family.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Great!!!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by teddy

I read this book for school and actually ended up really loving it. I want to buy this book. It is set in the racial times, and is centered around the trial of innocent tom Robinson againstthe word of white-trash mayella. I thnk this book should be read by everybody. the childhood experiences are so like my own?(scout and jems). it was overall a lovely read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Great Book
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Kelsey

This book is another one that I had to read for school and I liked it so much that I read it again. The words are so vivid and the children are so funny and mischevious that it makes you wonder what they will do next. After every page you are constantly wanting to know what will happen next and its so hard to put it down. You really start to open your heart and feel for the children. The story of the trial just adds another bonus to the book, and another question that you want answered. I highly recommend this book to everyone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
24 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2 3
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...

Latest Member Reviews

Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."