The Secret Hour (Midnighters #1)

 
0.0
 
4.1 (12)
2313 0

User reviews

4 reviews with 4 stars

12 reviews

 
(7)
 
(4)
3 stars
 
(0)
2 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Plot 
 
4.4  (12)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
4 results - showing 1 - 4
Ordering
Fresh And Intriguing
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
An impressive series-starter. The concept was so unique and original, I had to give it a shot. The idea of existing inside of an alternate compressed dimension within an extra 'hour' of the day is certainly a fantastical basis for a plot, but the author handled the descriptions, rules, and physics of said realm well enough for me to feel immersed in the details. Action-oriented, I saw it as having appeal for both males and females interested in the YA and supernatural genre.

The inter-relational aspects were strong, as was the pacing--and I appreciated the believable female lead. I have to give the author kudos for inserting aspects of vocabulary and mathematical terms that could be considered educational, while somehow making it seem more fascinating and integral to character survival than for the sake of beating us over the head with fun factoids.

This was a good little bit of sci-fi (or is it urban fantasy?), that answered a number of questions while leaving enough hanging to interest me in reading the next one.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
secret hour
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by vampreviews

This book is a pretty good one, its about kids who were born at exactly midight, therfore giving them the power to go into a secret hour, a time created for monsters who are afraid of metal and the number thirteen. Nothing electric works in the secret hour, and all the kids have amazing powers. Then a girl named Jess moves into town, shes also a midnighter, but the old midnighters need to figure out what her power is.  Then she falls in love with the outcast midnighter, Jonathan. But the secret hour is extremely dangerous, because the monsters are getting stronger.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Bixby, Oklahoma is cooler than it sounds
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Nina

Bixby, Oklahoma might seem like an insignificant, tiny little town in the middle of nowhere to the average person. However, this tiny town holds a huge secret. Jessica Day, who has just moved here with her family, is about to find out. Because like the other midnighters, she is born exactly at midnight, which allows her to roam freely during the secret hour every night at midnight. Meanwhile, everyone and everything besides Rex, Melissa, Dess, Jonathan and now also Jessica, is frozen in time. Each midnighter has a talent and Jessica must find out what hers is with help of the other midnighters. Not as easy as it sounds, because the creatures that the midnighters share the secret hour with are doing everything they can to prevent this.
This was another great book by Scott Westerfeld, who writes some of the best science fiction for young adults. I especially enjoyed the characters in the book because they are all so different and there will probably always be at least one person you can relate to. The book is fast-paced, never boring, and full of exciting action. And who doesnt love the idea of a secret hour to enjoy and explore with your friends and kick butt in every once in a while!?!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
It's Amazing
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by T.C.

I love The midnighters, i've read the book 5 times. I love it so much I'm coming up with my own version of the second book. I wish he would make a 2nd and 3rd book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
4 results - showing 1 - 4
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
Two Worlds of Redemption (Two Worlds, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
Two Worlds of Oblivion (Two Worlds, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
The Fowl Twins (The Fowl Twins, #1)
 
5.0
"I have never read the original Artemis Fowl books but now I absolutely intend to. The Fowl Twins is highly..."
Stuffed
 
4.0
"STUFFED follows Clark and Foon. Clark is a boy who loves stuffed animals and feels that they keep him safe...."
The Edge of the Word (Mightier than the Sword, #2)
 
5.0
"THE EDGE OF THE WORD is another absolutely delightful interactive story, where you are the main character in the book...."
Race to the Sun
 
5.0
"Nizhoni Begay struggles a bit. She manages to embarrass herself on the basketball court, watches out for her younger brother..."
Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky (Tristan Strong #1)
 
5.0
"I never wanted to be a superhero as a child, but I wanted to do heroic things. Tristan Strong epitomizes..."
Have You Seen My Blankie?
 
5.0
"Take a magical journey with Princess Alice in this delightful picture book. HAVE YOU SEEN MY BLANKIE? tells the story..."
The Fowl Twins (The Fowl Twins, #1)
 
5.0
"Witty, clever, and full of mischief, THE FOWL TWINS is a spin-off of ARTEMIS FOWL that easily stands on its..."
The Rubicus Prophecy (The Witches of Orkney, #2)
 
3.5
"THE RUBICUS PROPHECY is an engaging second book in the WITCHES OF ORKNEY series that follows the same friends on..."
Hilda and the Mountain King (Hilda, #6)
 
5.0
"HILDA AND THE MOUNTAIN KING is an engaging and thrilling children's fantasy adventure. This graphic novel tells the story of..."
Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky (Tristan Strong #1)
 
5.0
"Tristan Strong isn't doing too well. He lost his best friend, Eddie, in a bus accident, lost a boxing match,..."
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
"Albiorix is a young Medieval wizard from the mystical realm of Bríandalör who is Hall Master for the role playing..."
Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
 
4.0
"AMELIA FANG AND THE BARBARIC BALL is the first book in the Amelia Fang series, a fantasy/magical middle grade series..."
Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis (Amelia Fang, #2)
 
4.5
"AMELIA FANG AND THE UNICORNS OF GLITTEROPOLIS is ultimately about harmful stereotypes, problems with misinformation, and the subversion of overly..."
The Jumbie God's Revenge (The Jumbies, #3)
 
5.0
"THE JUMBIE GOD'S REVENGE is an even more amazing installment in a middle grade fantasy/horror series. As a third book,..."
Rise of the Jumbies (The Jumbies, #2)
 
5.0
"RISE OF THE JUMBIES is a fantastic continuation of Corinne's story. Combining Caribbean folklore with lots of adventure, this book..."
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
 
3.5
"I'm a huge fan of graphic novels and this series is one that is sure to appeal to those who..."
The Hobbit
 
3.5
"This book is strong and well hearted. "
Eva and Baby Mo: A Branches Book (Owl Diaries #10)
 
5.0
"Eva and Baby Mo, the next book of the Owl Diaries Series What a fun book! This book..."