The Nightmare Affair (The Arkwell Academy #1)

 
0.0
 
3.4 (8)
2519 1

User reviews

1 reviews with 5 stars

8 reviews

 
(1)
 
(2)
 
(4)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Plot 
 
3.5  (8)
Characters 
 
3.4  (8)
Writing Style 
 
3.3  (8)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
1 results - showing 1 - 1
Ordering
Loved it!
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
The Nightmare Affair by Mindee Arnett
eARC received from Tor Teen via Netgalley
Release Date: 3-5-2013
Reviewed by: Middle Sis Jenn
The Sisters Say: Ethereal, Gripping, and Dazzling

I have been looking forward to reading The Nightmare Affair ever since I read the blurb (months and months ago). It was one of the coolest ideas I have ever heard—Dusty’s a nightmare! A nightmare! How cool is that? I love the idea of taking something so abstract and turning it into embodiment of a person! Mindee’s world is utterly hypnotic—filled with duplicitous magickind and twisted into the stuff of…forgive me, nightmares. So, fantasy and magic fans, dive straight into this world! But be careful, here there be monsters.

Mindee’s story jumps straight into the action from Chapter 1, which, if you know me, is exactly how I like them. I understand that first books in a series need the world building, but at times it can get dense and boring. But not with this one. Each chapter brings a new mystery or a new revelation, and I couldn’t make my eyes read fast enough. The action kept me intrigued while the characters captured my imagination. I loved that Mindee was able to weave her world building into the action—and what a world it is. There are all sorts of magical creatures living in one place, and I just love how this book portrays them. You have sirens, vampires, demons, witches, mermaids—you name the paranormal creature, and it’s probably in this book. It was neat seeing a book where you get to see multiple creatures, instead of just focusing on a few.

Dusty was such a great main character—feisty and fun, but at times, immature in her thinking and actions. Normally, this would but me, but it just seems natural with Dusty. I didn’t get annoyed with her rash decisions, and believe me, she did make quite a few. It felt more like a rite of passage than just dumb mistakes. I think some people might get annoyed with her jump-straight-in attitude, but it didn’t really bug me. Now, I did think she was a little dense in the romance department, but that’s just me being biased because I like Eli. Paul is sweet and he seems like a great guy for her, but I just didn’t like him. Add that to the fact that the dream sessions with Eli are something that could definitely end in some great romancy scenes, and I just have high hopes that she’ll choose him.

So, obviously you know I’m a fan of Eli. Now, don’t get me wrong, he is definitely not perfect. He can be a big jerk at times, and like Dusty, he’s also dense at times when it comes to romance. But he just seems so sincere, and again, I like the connection that Dusty has with him. I would have liked to see a bit more alpha male in him, especially because he’s this big athlete and Mr. Popular from his last school. But, I really didn’t see that. We saw brief glimpses of jealousy and antagonism, but it wasn’t full blown. I would like to see some possessiveness show out in him in the next book.

I really liked the minor characters, too. You have Lance, who is this big jack***, but there is something about him that seems friendly, like if you manage to get past the goofy and jerky barrier, he could be an amazing friend. I might be wrong about him, but I still like his character, and I look forward to seeing more of him in the future. Then you have Selene, Dusty’s best friend. She’s the “give me no excuses and I won’t kick you in the butt” type of girl, and I really like her sincerity and her protective side.

The only complaint I really have is that some parts were predictable. Not all of them were, there was a big twist at the end that I didn’t see coming; however, I did see a few of the other big twists. This predictability didn’t keep me from enjoying the book, though. I still enjoyed every aspect of it, and I can’t wait until the sequel.

Horned Demons
Contraband Magic
Smexy Dream Scenes
Duplicitous People
Dark Secrets
Add those all together and what do you have? A nightmare worth dreaming.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
1 results - showing 1 - 1
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."