The Nightmare Affair (The Arkwell Academy #1)

 
0.0
 
3.4 (8)
2519 1

User reviews

1 reviews with 2 stars

8 reviews

 
(1)
 
(2)
 
(4)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Plot 
 
3.5  (8)
Characters 
 
3.4  (8)
Writing Style 
 
3.3  (8)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
1 results - showing 1 - 1
Ordering
Commoner's Ransom: The Nightmare Affair
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
The gifs and formatting of the original review can be found at http://ransom-reads.blogspot.com.au/2013/04/commoners-ransom-nightmare-affair.html

MAJOR SELLING POINTS:
Nightmare

I love the weird and whacky supernatural creatures we don't get to see often. Beings that feed off people's dreams definitely fit in that category. That unfamiliar mythology and the fact that Nightmares reminded me of maras from Rachel Vincent's Soul Screamers series pretty much guaranteed I was going to give this book a chance.

Murder Mystery

I love my mystery shows. I don't often read crime books, but I don't mind having a mystery as a side plot. Especially one as dark and mysterious as a serial killer.

SWASHBUCKLING:

I was disappointed with The Nightmare Affair. The mythology was good! What little there was. The rest just kind of fell short. Predictability was a big problem, as was the fact that the twists literally came from nowhere, there was no set up whatsoever. I had no idea where they came from. None of the major climatic events were that exciting either. I couldn't care less what was happening. I just thought it was 'meh'. I don't think I'll be continuing the series.

LINGO:

Once again, 'meh'. There was nothing special about this writing. It was kind of boring. Lots of info dumping and a complete lack of imagery, which was my biggest issue. We were told quite a lot of things. Sometimes Dusty was fairly humourous, but the jokes were pretty lame more often than not or I missed the reference/tag line completely. I think it may have been more suited to people a little younger.

CREW:
Destiny/Dusty Everhart

Dusty is so clumsy it is ridiculous. There is no way that much stuff could go wrong in reality. (Life, please don't prove me wrong) This fact, along with her flat personality, made it really hard to connect with Dusty. My honest thoughts on her was that she was okay. Her obliviousness was annoying quite a bit, and her humour silly, and I can't think of anything that stood out as really good about her.

Eli Booker

There is no way Eli would exist as a real person. No one is as good as Eli is. It's impossible. Really nice guy who gives off a bad boy attitude. Really well built and fit, a jock, but still stands up for the nerds. Smart, sarcastic, perfect. He is way too well rounded to exist in reality. This could just be stereotypes rubbing off on me but seriously, Eli cannot be real. He has no flaws!!

Paul (his last name is one of the obvious plot developments but still slightly spoilery)

Dusty might think Paul is a really wonderful nice guy, but I was never certain. Like Eli, he was too nice, too convenient. I never liked him. He was too suspicious. And it was so obvious where his development and motivations were going.

SWOONABILITY:

The romance in The Nightmare Affair didn't really exist. The was no chemistry, no anticipation, no build up. It happened to way to fast and as a result, I did not care about the relationship at all. This is strange for me because I always ship characters. Always. It probably didn't help that I could tell where the relationships were heading as soon as the males were introduced. (Oh yeah, it's a love triangle).

SHIPS:
-Dusty x Eli
-Lance x a fist to the face
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
1 results - showing 1 - 1
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Twin
 
3.7
"When Ivy and Iris were ten, their parents divorced. Ivy lived with their father and Iris with their mother. Then..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."