The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)

Hot
 
5.0 (2)
 
4.7 (144)
19089 67

User reviews

21 reviews with 4 stars

144 reviews

 
(117)
 
(21)
 
(4)
2 stars
 
(0)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.8  (144)
Characters 
 
4.6  (62)
Writing Style 
 
4.6  (60)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
21 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2 3
Ordering
Fun, interesting and frightening
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I really enjoyed this novel. It is compelling and shows more than you think it does. It's not just a YA novel - its a critique on reality too.

Katniss is epic and Peeta was a sweetheart. Gale can go away please.

Plot was incredible and very fastpaced. Writing was elementary and simple to read.

A must read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Great novel, probably the most unique book i've ever read
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Every chapter is just amazing. There's nothing dull about the story, it's really well written and easily understood. I really like how every time a chapter ends, there's either a shocking surprise or a cliffhanger. Katniss is so inspiring even if sometimes when she's clueless or in shock. The story isn't just about the hunger games but from family, love, friends as well as surving with lost loved ones. The reason i gave 4/5 stars for characters and writing style is not because i don't like it but it's because sometimes the characters make decisions or say stuff that i just don't agree with. Sometimes i would be like 'no!! why are you doing this'. Overall this book has made me nearly in tears twice...maybe more but it touched me.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Hungry For More
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I was deeply impressed by this first book in the series. It most certainly stands well by itself, while leaving the reader with a desire for more of this futuristic, dystopian reality. Though it took me a while to get used to the first person present-tense perspective, which deeply annoyed me at first, the plot and depth was such that I -did- eventually get over it and was able to immerse myself in the solid imagery and rapid pacing.

The main character is a strong, jaded female forced into the mold of circumstance. Her maturity, and at times, immaturity, are well-placed and believable given her age, background, and the harshness (both mental and physical) of her surroundings. Though the male counterpart, Peeta, seemed a bit flat and their would-be romance deliberately difficult to buy, Katniss herself made up for it. If only because the author was masterfully subtle in the matter-of-factness of the character's voice, and her consistent ability to get me to ask myself 'what would I do if that were me?' questions. The moral depravity of the situation isn't thrust on the reader with undertones of the author's feelings, it simply is what it is--a cruel force that happens to be unimaginably above and beyond the control of any of the characters.

The degree of boyscout-like survival tidbits was downright inspiring, and along with the brutal depictions of violence, gave the book a certain appeal to males. The details on edible plants and basic survival skills was accurate without being dull...and indeed, the moral quandaries presented in the story result in a wealth of potentially valuable but covert lessons. For that, the book has earned a place on the list of those I will encourage my children to read on day. When they are of an appropriate age to handle the darker concepts contained therein, of course.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
ok
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Ok book
Good Points
It was good, but not as "amazing" as others think, well at least to me it wasn't. I was like eh!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
the hunger games
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
The first thing that stood out to me was the world-building. If you will allow me an indulgent comparison, I’ll explain.
Veronica Roth’s Divergent is widely being hailed as the next Hunger Games. It’s very obvious to me that Ms Roth took a great deal of inspiration from The Hunger Games. I won’t go into the similarities, but they’re there, and at times they almost verge on copy-cating. However, the big, huge difference between these two books—and the factor that makes The Hunger Games better than Divergent—is that Ms Collins actually understands how to create a believable post-apocalyptic setting, whereas Ms Roth does not.

Without going too heavily into the details, the foundations of Panem’s society are laid out intelligbly and clearly. Sure, I still have questions, but these questions aren’t the result of faulty setting/story conception. Of course, at times the information was given in a bit of an info-dump, but information presented awkwardly is better than no information at all.

In short, the world-building was good. I’m glad I read Divergent first, as it probably would have been quite a let-down after reading The Hunger Games.

Still being indulgent, please allow me to *SQUEE* about Peeta a little bit. Now, his character is logistically awful; he’s without a doubt some fantasy pulled out of the author’s head. No boy is that perfect. But I still liked him. If a Mary Sue character is done well enough and is thoroughly endearing, I don’t mind as much as I would otherwise. Peeta is the dystopian equivalent of Prince Charming, something that shouldn’t have worked, but did.

Thirdly, I thought the plot was good. Actually, strike that; I thought the premise was good. Insanely original. Roman gladatorial contests for a new era? Count me in. And since the premise was good, the plot followed a path that, though predictable, had enough newness to be entertaining.

All that being said, I did have one rather large issue with the book. That being the way Katniss involved herself in the Games. In short, how she somehow managed to come out as a glorified god who hadn’t dirtied her hands with her fellow competitors’ blood.

Rue, Thresh, Foxface, and the others were all conveniently not killed by Katniss, or if they were, it was by “accident”. I found the whole set-up to be entirely contrived and used as a method for keeping Katniss squeaky clean and above reproach. Same for Peeta.

By extension, characters who are above reproach generally tend to lack depth or realism. Which is a no-no.
And that’s all I have to say about that.

Well deserving of its reputation as the mother of modern dystopian fiction, The Hunger Games is well worth reading. It isn’t a perfect book, but I think it comes close enough that readers don’t care.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
exelent book! loved it
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
heartbreaking, honest and real!! i felt so empty! and shallow... but it helps you to make you question about the important things in life.
Good Points
the hunger games is the reflection of many thing, in a political, sociable and personal way! it goes beyond of katniss and peeta's love! HONEST AND REAL
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Best book ever!
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Everyone has got to read this book and all the other books in the series. I was amazed by the organised feel but slightly mad and dangerously exciting plot.
READ READ READ!!!
Good Points
Really gripping. A definite must read! Good fun but daring andb exciting.
Wow!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Loved it, but
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Katniss's character would sometimes get on my nerves, but that is expected. I enjoyed her in the long run, though. I feel it was part of the journey to dislike her at certain points, because I was just angry that she wouldn't make up her mind. I'm sure part of that was the reason I kept on reading.
Good Points
The characters are believable. Not only can you fully experience the way Katniss feels, but nobody is the overly used character that has heads turning everywhere they go because they are so beautiful. Thank goodness. Everyone of them has there flaws.
The plot was amazing, making me want to continue reading at the end of every chapter. Even the end left me craving for more!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A good read
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
N/A
This was a good read. I must say, it took me a while to get into it as I felt the preparation for the actual Hunger Games took up most of the book and slowed the pace a bit. The characters were well crafted, and I especially liked the budding relationship between Katniss and Peeta. It felt authentic. The story just didn't grab me as I had hoped it would have, but it was still a good read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Exciting but bloody
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
I was pulled into the excitement of this book, could not put it down, although I am usually turned off by violence. I immediately went out and bought books two and three, but by the end of the third book I was bored and disgusted.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
21 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2 3
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

One True Way
 
5.0
"In 1977, Allie and her mother move from New Jersey to the South. Grieving over the death of her brother..."
Cake Pop Crush
 
4.0
"An incredibly sweet story, in more ways than one! Alicia loves to bake, and since her family runs a bakery..."