The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)

Hot
 
5.0 (2)
 
4.7 (144)
20883 67

User reviews

4 reviews with 3 stars

144 reviews

 
(117)
 
(21)
 
(4)
2 stars
 
(0)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.8  (144)
Characters 
 
4.6  (62)
Writing Style 
 
4.6  (60)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
4 results - showing 1 - 4
Ordering
A bit too close to The Long Walk
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
I liked it better when it was called "Battle Royale" (an older japanese movie) or The Long Walk by Stephen King (1975). Collins seems to have ripped off the idea and gotten away with it, but the writing style is very slow. I am no a fan of this book, and I won't read Book 2.
Good Points
Based on a good idea. But that's all.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
The .001%
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
Considering it's one of the most-reviewed books on here, I will try to keep this short. Still, this is likely one of the few reviews that won't be singing its praises.

I read "The Hunger Games" because I was forced to, essentially. I was resisting it because I had fallen for the hype surrounding "Twilight" a few years ago, and the way I describe it, "'Twilight' and I had a very bad break-up." However, my dad kept bugging me to read it because Katniss is an archer and - what do you know? - so am I. Yes, I did it before Katniss made it cool. Plus, my dad was going to read it, and he normally doesn't read a lot of books. Therefore I felt obligated to read it as well. For the record, I did not go into "The Hunger Games" wanting to hate it. In fact, I was hoping that I would be proved wrong. And, coming out of it, I don't hate it, but all I have is a big 'eh'. Just 'eh'.

I think I would have liked it better if it were written in third person. I really wanted to know what was going on in the Capitol or with the other Tributes, and Katniss wasn't really a fantastic narrator. Her reaction to hearing Prim's name called was extremely anti-climactic (and on that note, I'd like to point out that, as a hunter, I know for a fact that people DIE regularly from falling out of ten-foot tree stands. I did not buy that Katniss was merely winded after that experience). Also, Collins used far too many fragmented sentences. I know, I sound like a Grammar Nazi, but I'm not anti-fragments. There's just a time and a place, and they were sprinkled haphazardly all over the place in Collins work. They lose their impact, then.

Although "Twilight" and I do not get along well now, I can say this: at least it had a decent love-triangle. The most obnoxious love-triangle in history, yes, but at least it did have three points and conflict. The 'love-triangle' in "The Hunger Games" was more like a love-90-degree-angle ... Gale was so inconsequential throughout most of the book and his relationship with Katniss so vague that I did not care. And I didn't care much about Peeta either, for that matter. Like I said, 'eh'. Same for all the other Tributes. It's supposed to be this huge deal that they all die, but besides Rue I never got to know any of them well enough to care at all. There's just so little character-development in this whole book that it left a very small impact on me. The thing that I can compliment Collins on is her action sequences. As I said in my points, it's clear she's a screenwriter. There was some good action stuff. I just wanted it to be BALANCED with characters that I cared about!

So, overall, not the best book I've ever read (but definitely not the worst). I guess there's one other good thing I can hand to the series, though, and this reluctantly: it's getting people to read in an age where reading is no longer cool. And for that, I tip my hat to you, Ms. Collins.

So much for keeping this short.
Good Points
-It's clear that Collins is a screen-writer. Her action scenes were good.
-The book gets people to read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
Good
(Updated: April 20, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
I think it could have been better. There wasn't much meaning in it. It was pretty good, but not the best book ever. Also, I didn't really like how the author made it into a love story. It made the book just another romance with scary things in it. I think that Katniss should've kept strong instead of falling in love. I mean, it's great that the hero is a girl for once, but of course, she has to fall in love.
Good Points
I think that the author did a good job of making you feel the emotions of the characters. I could feel all of the emotions that Katniss felt in the arena. The author described her feelings very well, so I felt them too. When one of Katniss’s close friends died, I felt her sadness. I could better understand why Katniss did things by feeling her emotions. I could understand why she suddenly became so determined to win at one part in the book. I could feel her feelings, how she was so sad and angry that her friend had died, and she felt like she had to avenge her.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
whats up hunger games
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by brooke

THE HUNGER GAMES
The book starts out with a sixteen year old girl Katniss Everdeen, from district 12. She is the main character of the book. Every year, there is a punishment for discrict 13s rebelion.Two tributes from the ages of twelve and eighteen are chosen by
lottery from each of the twelve districts to challenge/fight each other to the death in the arena. The event is called the Hunger Games and everyone in the Capitol can watch it on Tv. The winning praise is given food and a simple life for themselves and there families also with presents of food and resources for their district. Katniss voluntered to take her little sister Prim's place after she was drawn in the lottery. A bakers son named Peeta that katniss new through school, is also drawn to fight in the Games. So katniss and Peeta had to go to the Capitol to fight other children in the arena. In a twist of events we find out that Peeta is in love with Katniss and so is Gale a boy that is in the same district that katniss is in and hunted with her. The love triangle pretty much means katniss has got a sittuation. So it makes it more exciting and adds on to the story line and to the Games themselves as Katniss and all the other tributes fight for their lives.

I thought that this was an good book so i rated it a three.The characters didnt really make scence because they were put in just to die, some didnt really have a main part. They were pretty realistic and sympathetic though.The plot was dramatic, and kept me wanting to read on.It was good because there were many surprises, and it was romantic at the same time.

i would suggest this book to people my age because i liked it and i dont really like books at all. it was really interesting and exciting. I might even read the rest of the series.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
4 results - showing 1 - 4
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein
 
4.0
"The most amazing thing about classic horror stories is how they still influence many writers today. To read 'the..."
A Conspiracy of Stars
 
4.3
"Feedback First thing first - what a world! This is a brand new planet that Cole had created and..."
Monster (Gone #7)
 
4.7
"I have loved all the books in the gone series and this one is no exception. Kept me entertained until..."
Monster (Gone #7)
 
4.7
"Let me start by saying that while this is the seventh (yes, seventh!) book in a series, I haven't ever..."
Apex (Hunter Series #3)
 
5.0
"APEX is the epic, action-packed finale to the Hunter Series. Joy is now a member of the Elite Hunter Command..."
Our Dark Duet
 
5.0
"Oh my. I don't even know what to say about this book and how much I loved it. I wanted..."
The Monstrous Child
 
3.3
"THIS MONSTROUS CHILD is about how Hel, a young teenage girl came to rule the underworld and how she and..."
Dark Army, The (The Starblade Chronicles #2)
 
4.7
"**Spoiler Alert** Because of the nature of A New Darkness, which includes a plot twist that has made me and..."