The Elite (The Selection #2)

FeaturedHot
 
4.5 (2)
 
4.0 (12)
8702 1

User reviews

12 reviews

 
(6)
 
(2)
 
(2)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.1  (12)
Characters 
 
3.8  (12)
Writing Style 
 
4.1  (11)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 11 - 12
1 2
Ordering
A disappointment
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
I liked the first book of this series. The whole Bachelorette thing was new and interesting. A normal girl has to compete with 24 other girls to marry the prince, never seen that before in a book. The book had a good pace and I liked the relationship of prince Maxon and America. The whole dystopian theme in the book was not really there, but just as YA romance book it was pretty good. So I was excited to read the second book: The Elite. The cover looked amazing, so I had my hopes up.

But when I started reading the Elite, I soon discovered it was not merely as good as the Selection.
The whole Bachelorette/competition thing was reduced to a minimum. There were a few challenges for the remaining girls, but the concept that made book 1 good was gone.
Another thing that made me not like the book was America constantly getting mad at Maxon for spending time with other girls. She just could get her mind around it that he did that because he had to in the competition. She was constantly doubting herself and being jealous of the other girls. Her character therefore came accross as weak and insecure.
Also the 'violent' rebels that were described in the summary were non-existent. Sure there were a few 'attacks', but nothing really happened with that and they sure were not violent.
The worst was that the whole plot of the book only revolved around the love triangle of America, Aspen and Maxon. America and Maxon in the first book were cute together, but adding Aspen, her boyfriend before the Selection, in the second book did certainly not make the book better. A love triangle as such is not bad, but America became really irritating because of it. She was constantly changing her mind who she wants to be with and this most of the time without apparent reason. This becomes very annoying after the third change, make up your mind already! The character of Aspen also was not developed, to me he just remained this annoying boy who kept getting between America and Maxon.
With this book I got the feeling that if I skipped half of it I would still understand everything perfectly. The ending was pretty boring, no cliffhanger or anything and I am not sure I will read the next one. So, the first book was not good as a dystopian book and this one is not even good as a romantic one.

I would not recommend this book, the love triangle is just too annoying and all-consuming and the protagonist is unlikeable.

http://www.evelinesbooks.blogspot.nl
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
The Elite review
(Updated: January 27, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
When I first started reading this book I had really high hopes for it ,it had an interesting plot and wasn't like most dystopians and sort of refreshing ,(I really liked the cover that's what actually sold me on it ) .Anyway,I liked America and the other characters except Aspen (I really hate him he is soo stupid and a really dislike able character not only that but manipulative) then the story progresses and its like wait I think that I hate both America and Aspen, I like the supporting characters, like her sister and Maxon I mean he is just so amazing, fairy tale material. I continued reading hoping that it would get better, but it didn't. I know that not everyone is perfect and characters can have flaws and make mistakes (except Maxon because anyone else would of said Goodbye America when they first met) , but, America is really annoying but she is so stupid and rash and selfish and overall one of the most dislike-able characters that I've ever read in my life and I know that I'm not the only one who feels this way. I really thought that this would be a lot better but instead it feel like Kiera Cass watched the Bachelorette and read Divergent and try to combine it .This has soo much potential but overall this could of been better this not good this could of been better if only America was more like able.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
12 results - showing 11 - 12
1 2
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devil Darling Spy
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...

Latest Member Reviews

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
5.0
"This is a combination of two Big Nate novels; Big Nate on a Roll and Big Nate Goes For Broke...."