Team Human

Featured
 
4.3
 
4.2 (6)
2516 0

User reviews

2 reviews with 4 stars

6 reviews

 
(3)
 
(2)
 
(1)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Plot 
 
4.2  (6)
Characters 
 
4.3  (6)
Writing Style 
 
4.2  (6)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
2 results - showing 1 - 2
Ordering
Team Human audiobook review
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I think I enjoyed this one more in audiobook format than I would have in regular text. I read much slower than I can listen to an audiobook since I can listen at work. Since I read more on the slow side, I think I would've gotten a bit bored with the story and the main character, but I didn't really feel that, save for a few moments, while listening.

While Mel, our main character, can get a bit annoying with her snark, I found her highly amusing. Her incredible distaste for vampires confused me a bit since it seemed there wasn't much of a reason for it, but this was actually addressed in the story, so I can live with it.

I'm not going to lie, I wasn't entirely happy with the ending. I mean, I can't quite see it going any other way, but that doesn't mean I have to be happy about it.

Cathy drove me in.freaking.sane. I understand what it feels like to be seventeen,
I do. Seventeen is basically eighteen and you're supposed to be an adult at that point, so why can't you just make your own choices now? And hey, that is a legit question. And in most situations, I think people make perfectly good choices at that age. I do not, however, think it's a good idea to decide vamp yourself at seventeen. Especially when you're doing it because of a boy. A boy you've known for all of a couple weeks. That could likely result in some serious relationship remorse if there was ever to be a breakup. Plus, you know, it's kind of a life or death decision. So, I didn't really like Cathy or the decisions she made.

Kit, on the other hand, was a great character. I can completely understand his wish to become a vampire. He was raised by them. Much more reasonable, no? Plus, he was completely adorable with his skewed vision of humanity (as opposed to vampires). He and Mel made a really cute couple, especially since all they really had was a flirty kind of thing going on for half the book. Not too heavy, but completely adorable.

The story itself was pretty good. I appreciated that it was more than romance and Mel's crusade to stop Cathy from becoming a vampire. The side story is good, but it was still a bit predictable, as was the rest of the plot.

The Nutshell: If you're a quick reader or looking for a good audio, I'd recommend Team Human. The plot is a bit on the predictable side and the characters aren't outstanding or anything, but it's highly amusing and Mel's romance is pretty cute.

Hit
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
New side of the vampire genre...
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
This one was definitely a new side of the vampire. It's got everything, nasty humorous jabs, vampires, mystery and zombies.

Now, people, let us debate the pros and cons of being a vampire.

PROS
You can live forever, move really fast and be gorgeous

CONS
You never get to laugh, cry or really even smile again. You can never go in the sunlight at all.

I would never become a vampire. Anyone who knows me knows that I laugh. A lot. At everything. And I like the sun. So, from my point of view, Cathy's decision was a stupid one. I mean, she knows this guy for a few weeks and decides she wants to be with him. For eternity. Of not laughing, smiling, crying or anything. That sounds horrible. Anyway.

PLOT

The plot was a little confusing. There were too many side plots, and you had to kind of dig to find the right one. There was the mystery regarding Anna, trying to convince Cathy not to turn into a vampire, trying to figure out Kit and his family, and hating on Francis. It was a bit confusing.

But the plot was also very original, which I really liked.

CHARACTERS

I really liked Mel as a main character. Unlike most female protagonists in vampire books, she was totally NOT obsessed with vampires. She was also really funny, which made the book more enjoyable in contrast to Cathy and Francis' seriousness. I thought that maybe her meanness to the vampires was a little unjustified and a bit over the top, but I still really liked her.

I also liked Kit and Anna, Kit because he was really funny, and Anna because, well, she was just likable.

I think this book would appeal to both vampire lovers and vampire haters, because although the whole book revolves around the existence of vampires, the main character really does not like vampires, and it's actually more about friendship and mystery.
Good Points
- The main character was funny and NOT in love with vampires
- Very original
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
2 results - showing 1 - 2
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."
Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."