Prom

Hot
 
4.0
 
3.6 (11)
8666 0

User reviews

11 reviews

 
(2)
 
(7)
3 stars
 
(0)
2 stars
 
(0)
 
(2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
11 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2
Ordering
Even small towns can make a big difference
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Caity

I liked this book because it showed me that theres more to people then just who they are on the outside. Prom is about a small town girl who is a senior in high school, who doesn't plan on going to college or prom. She has lived next door to her best friend since 2nd grade but never had to do anything to prove they were best friends until her bff becomes president of the prom committee and needs her help to save prom.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Prom -Laurie Halse Anderson
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Colleen Driscoll

A great book that I recently read was Prom by Laurie Halse Anderson. Laurie Halse Anderson is a gifted author who goes into great detail with her stories. Another book that she wrote was Speak, which was also an amazing book. Her story, Prom, is about a senior girl named Ashley Hannigan. Ashleys home life is okay but far from easy. She has two little brothers, a father, and a mother whjo always seems to be pregnant. Ashley was not looking forward to the Prom. She has a hard enough time just trying to graduate from Carceras High school. Ashley has a best friend named Natalia who is the complete opposite of her. Natalia is the head of the Prom Committee and completely obsessed with the occasion. The whole event goes wrong when their math teacher steals all of the prom money and their forced to start all the planning over. Natalia needs extra help because of the dilemma and drags Ashley to all of the meetings. Ironically enough, this helps Ashley get back on the right track towards being successful. The whole book leads up to this one eventful night. This was a refreshing book with a good plot line, that didnt lose my interest.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Wow Comparison
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Peggy Lou

This book can be really comparing to me. No not like stealing money or nothing more like me being obseesed with Prom and try my baddest to earn it as fast i i could. No wonder natalie was stressing last ever dance and worked really hard for and dont get really sad. but luckily they got friends to help raise some money some donations and had it in the gym. I love this book
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
prom
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by lauren

this book was okay. it was about a girl who had to help pull off a last minute prom in the school gym after her math teacher stole most of the prom money. the girl, ashley, was a bit of a trouble maker, skipping classes, and skipping detentions, and hanging out with her older boyfriend TJ, who dropped out of school. The two were planning on getting an apartment together. ashley and her friend nat are busy planning for the prom, asking for donations and everything. as the day to prom gets closer nat decided to wear her prom shoes to school, and trips, hurting her leg and requiring a cast, leaving ashley all by herself, with the help of the the prom committee, which wasnt that helpful. Ashley has her dress picked out and everything is ready, excpet that she finds outs that because she never made up her detentions she is unable to go to the prom, but will that stop her? if you want to know, read the book!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Gritty
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by KL

I've read 3 of Halse's books now and I have to say of all three, Speak, Catalyst and Prom, this is my least favorite. Perhaps it's because I didn't feel she was part of the world she was writing about. I felt that some of the lower class background was more of a foreign subject to her. The other 2 novels were set in a middle to upper middle class backgound and those books seemed to flow much better. I did think it was a unique plot idea though.

The main character is someone who you wish you could leap into the pages and give advice to. I keep wanting to throttle her and tell her to stay away from her boyfriend, maximize her potential, and not move out once she graduates high school. I feel she's just a step away from being pregnant and on welfare if she stays on the track she's on. So the book did hit me emotionally.

Overall, this is a book that I would only recommend to older readers. Some of the subject matter is a bit mature (not that it's overly sexual, it's just something a younger reader might not grasp as well), and would be better appreciated by an older audience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Funny
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Leslie J. de la Rosa

It’s amazing what you might hear while roaming the school halls. I discovered this while reading this book. Ashley’s senior year is about to end. With prom on her best friend, Nat, mind 24/7, she finds most of her time spent with TJ her boyfriend. Well she plans to spend most of her time with him, but he keeps standing her up. Ashley works at a pizza place were she has to wear a rat costume and they keep pulling her tail. While at school someone has stolen the prom money and prom would have been canceled if it weren’t for Ashley. She wouldn’t care less about prom if it weren’t for her friend who lived for it. I thought this book was pretty good and enjoyable to read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
hilarious, sweet, didn't lose my attention
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by chikita

one of the best: i didn't get bored, i laughed aloud at parts, and it really had a story with morals.
also, the characters were nearly brilliant. Ashley Hannigan was one of the most realistic teen characters i've ever read in a book, and yet totally interesting. She doesn't lie about her feelings. Nat's grandmother is also funny and sweet, adding a zest to this book. Laurie Halse Anderson rocks, she understands what it's like to be a teenager.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
this book is preety awesome!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Robbino678

this book was preety good.. at first i thoguht ashely was a punk.. but she waas preety cool.. i thought it was really good at first i was going to put it down and start on a new book but it was really good.. i would recomend it to any1. thanks
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Inspiring And Shows You What Life Is All About
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by two sided freek

Ahley, a teen living on the other side of the tracks, attends a highschool where the prom's money gets stolen. Of course, Ashley has no interest in going, but seeing all the other girls distraught over no prom, signs up for a committee that will gather more money and supplies for the prom. Meanwhile, Ahsley deals with her boyfriend, her family, her grades which are slowly dropping, and the fact that she might not be able to attend the only thing she has worked so hard for.

Prom, such a wide subject. Prom, as I consider it, is an event when lots of girls spend money on meaningless items such as dresses and shoes and have their hair done really nice, just for something as materialistic as one night of fun. That's what I used to think prom was. After reading this book, I come to find it is so much more. It's one night of letting go, becoming someone you never were, becoming someone pretty, noticed, and so much more. It's different for alot of teen but one hope we all share is to have one night of blissful memories, one night of fun that we can always treasure. In this book, it's one community that doesn't have everything they can, no endless supply of money, worries that never come to an end. It's one community coming together after a day's hard work. It's inspiring to see all these characters that face immense hardships, family problems, lack of money, and alot more come together to let go of all life's worries and just enjoy life.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
boring
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by artemis

This book was boring. Just two teens moaning over the prom and why they are dateless. Boring. You're time is better spent going to your prom than sitting around reading about crazy teens complaining about theirs. Predictable. It was so annoying, but I'm glad I borrowed it instead of buying it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
11 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

SAVE ME, KURT COBAIN
 
3.7
"When Nicola, 'Nico' Cavan was four years old, her mother left and promised that she'd return. Only she didn't...."