Pandemonium (Delirium #2)

FeaturedHot
 
5.0 (2)
 
4.5 (22)
4989 4

User reviews

2 reviews with 3 stars

22 reviews

 
(15)
 
(4)
 
(2)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot 
 
4.5  (22)
Characters 
 
4.4  (22)
Writing Style 
 
4.6  (22)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
2 results - showing 1 - 2
Ordering
Does not live up to the hype.
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I was one of the few people who was not completely spellbound by Delirium. I had heard from many people that Pandemonium was very different from Delirium, so I thought that might be a good thing. I might like book two better. And I did like the second installment better, but only by a little bit.

The story in Pandemonium is told in a different way than that of Delirium. Instead of in chapters, it’s in sections alternating between “then” and “now.” I have mixed feelings about the format. At first, it was a bit confusing, then it was a little annoying, but then it stop and left me with questions. I found myself liking the “now” storyline better than the “then” but I understand the importance of the “then” storyline. It’s there to fill in the blanks, and if it had been completely linear, this might have been a four book series instead of a three book series, and book two would have been very dull.

Like I did with Delirium, I had trouble focusing. The majority of the story just didn’t capture my attention. I kept finding other things to do instead of reading, which in turn caused me to get very behind on my blogging schedule. Was it because I had just come away from reading Allegiant? Maybe, but I had the same trouble with Delirium. The writing is absolutely wonderful and lyrical, but I guess I just don’t feel very invested in the characters and the plot as some others are. However, I do care enough to want to know what’s going to happen in the last book.

The last fourth of the novel was what really kept my attention. Everything lead up to that last part of the story and it was quite intense. However, the book ends with a HUGE cliffhanger. I pretty much spent my time making myself read the entire book and then BAM. Secrets are uncovered and new problems emerge and I’m expected to be okay with that? I feel like book three will be the best of all of them, based on the direction the story is currently taking. My feelings are quite mixed when it comes to entire series, so don’t take my word for gospel. Read it for yourself and come to your own conclusion if you’re willing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Pandemonium
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
I have to say I love this series and the world that Lauren Oliver has created. When I read Delirium I was so intrigued with a world where love was considered a sickness that needed to be cured. By the end of Delirium I was hooked and needed more of these characters and this world. However Pandemonium didn't quiet seem to meet my expectations and I am not really sure why. The only thing I can put my finger on is the lack of Alex.

I loved the new characters and getting to see a glimpse into how the invalids live in the Wilds. I loved the fact that the chapters switched between then and now. A flashback to Lena's time in the Wilds and then the current story that is unfolding with her helping the resistance.

I really didn't have a problem with Julian in general, but every time I read Julian and Lena's interactions my heart died a little. I guess he just simply isn't Alex. In Delirium when I read Alex and Lena's interactions my heart would flutter and race. I felt the chemistry, it felt real. For some reason with Julian I felt nothing. I am all for love triangles they make books interesting, this however just kind of upset me.

Now I am not really one to scream aloud when reading, but the last page of this book definitely made me do just that. The last bit was what saved the whole book for me. Hopefully I don't want to kill Lena when I get my hands on Requiem. I have faith that she will make the right choice.

Review originally posted on my blog: http://www.ramblingsofabooknerd.com/2013/04/review-pandemonium-by-lauren-oliver.html
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
2 results - showing 1 - 2
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Hey, Charleston!: The True Story of the Jenkins Orphanage Band
 
5.0
" This was such a fun book! There is something to be said about a nonfiction book that can..."