Lola and the Boy Next Door

 
5.0
 
4.5 (10)
2753 0

User reviews

1 reviews with 2 stars

10 reviews

 
(8)
4 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot 
 
4.4  (10)
Characters 
 
4.4  (10)
Writing Style 
 
4.7  (10)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
1 results - showing 1 - 1
Ordering
:(
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Once upon a time, there was a girl who talked to the moon.

Lola Nolan doesn't believe in fashion. She believes in costume. To her, life is too short to be the same person every day. Despite the fluffy costumes, glitter, insane colours and hot boys, I did not enjoy reading this book. All of you guys hate me, I know, and I'm going to accept that . . . but it's not going to change my mind/make me miraculously see and understand this book's awesomeness overload.

After reading Anna and the French Kiss, it made my heart feel warm and bubbly; like I was seeing stars. After reading this . . . eh, not so much. I'm going to try and write this review as politely and calmly as I can and not jump on the characters like I always do in my reviews. I gotta keep this review cute, or put it on mute.

Countless times I wanted to put this down and give it one-star, countless times, but my sister said, 'Danielle, finish this book. Stop being an idiot.' So I forced myself to finish. I was determined to see some good in this book, praying to make me enjoy this as much as I enjoyed Anna and the French Kiss. My feelings didn't change. I am generously giving this 2 stars because 1) Lola's awesome; funny parents 2) Lola's sense of style/costumes 3) Cricket Bell and 4) because this was written by Stephanie Perkins.

With that being said -- moving on.

Everyone knows I hate love-triangles. Hate it with a burning passion. Some of you take pleasure in reading about a girl being in love with two boys and trying to decide who to pick and vice versa; I don't understand why. It's vexatious and frustrating to read.

This was a twisted love-triangle. Lola was being immature about the whole situation. From constantly saying 'no I love my boyfriend. I LOVE MAX.' to 'Cricket's here. Ohmygod ohmygod ohmygod. Does he still like me? NO. He can't, he shouldn't. I'm happy about this.' Not only was she immature about the whole situation, she was a selfish person. So selfish I was shaking the book in anger. I wanted to throw this book across the room. Me, throwing a book written by Stephanie Perkins, across my room? It hurts me so much.

Why couldn't Lola just leave Cricket alone? Why did she have to always bring pain upon him? She would constantly lead him on then turn and say, 'I can't. I have a boyfriend.' Then she'd go on and say, 'Do I still have feelings for him? But he hurt me a few years ago . . . nope. I don't have feelings for Cricket. This is good thing, so why do I feel so empty, why do I get nervous whenever he's around me?' Isn't it obvious, Lola?

I had to read up till page 200 for her finally realise she still did have feelings for him; that they never left. And then after reading how he had hurt her, I was left with this dumb expression. I thought Cricket cheated on her, or done something that was just completely terrible. It was her not being invited to his birthday party.

Lola was so desperate and determined to forget about Cricket for 'hurting' her (i'm sorry I can't stop giggling) and failed to focus on the life that goes on around her. Like her birth mother, Norah. I would've liked to have read more about Norah besides reading she was a drunk, and she gave Lola up to her brother and his partner. Norah was thrown into this book. How can you write about something so important but fail to make it important?

I just can't any more.

All right. I'm calm again. This book wasn't a complete waste of my time (sort of), some of the quotes were inspiring:

'I know you aren't perfect. But it's a person's imperfections that make them perfect for someone else.'

'Just because something isn't practical doesn't mean it's not worth creating. Sometimes beauty and real-life magic are enough.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
1 results - showing 1 - 1
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.8
"This is a beautiful book—both in how it is designed and how it is written. The prose is lyrical, yet..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."