I Hunt Killers

FeaturedHot
 
4.7 (2)
 
4.8 (6)
15723 2

User reviews

1 reviews with 4 stars

6 reviews

 
(5)
 
(1)
3 stars
 
(0)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Plot 
 
4.8  (6)
Characters 
 
4.8  (6)
Writing Style 
 
4.8  (6)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
1 results - showing 1 - 1
Ordering
I Hunt Killers
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
From the very first chapter, I know this book was going to be a doozy. I Hunt Killers is a gripping story about serial killers and…not becoming a serial killer. I’ve yet to meet a reader who didn’t enjoy this book (that typically means I won’t like it, though thankfully not in this case), so I think that’s probably a strong indication of how good this book is, and what a great job Barry Lyga did with this story.

So, based on the reviews I’ve read, I was expecting a really gory manhunt type book. And I guess that’s where perspective comes into play, because a), there is no dramatic manhunt besides “oh hey, there’s a serial killer in town—I should do something about that” and b), I Hunt Killers isn’t actually very gory. Or, it wasn’t for me. And maybe that’s because I read a lot of adult fiction along with my YA, so my gore-meter is skewed upwards? Anyhoo. Neither of those are bad things that impacted my overall enjoyment, so they’re just observations.

I do think that the biggest thing I Hunt Killers has going for it is sheer unputdownableness. I started reading this book in a bad mood. I knew I shouldn’t be reading because this mood was going to ruin anything I read, but I was on a deadline so I kept on. The next thing I knew, I was on page 200, and poof, bad mood gone. This is an absolutely absorbing book that seriously grabs you and does not let go. Plus, Lyga gets bonus points for giving me exactly what I needed at that moment, which doesn’t happen too often.

The strange thing about this book is that I knew who the serial killer was as soon as he showed up. The very first sentence out of this character’s mouth is a complete tip-off. Maybe this means I read too many Nancy Drew books as a kid. Anyway, the fact that I completely knew who the killer was didn’t bother me as much as I most likely would have in any other circumstance. Actually, it added a delicious bit of dramatic irony to the entire novel, and I kind of liked yelling at Jazz to be a bit more observant, darn you.

Speaking of Jazz…he’s messed up. Basically he spent his childhood being trained by his serial killer father to be a serial killer once he grew up. And now that his dad’s in jail, Jazz is trying to convince everyone (but especially himself), that he’s not like his father. He definitely has that “tortured hero with strong sense of morality” thing going on, which I tend to go for a lot of the time in my books. I found it a bit less charming in Jazz for some reason, though I still think he’s a really strong character who I enjoyed. It might have been nice if his support system (AKA, two best friends) were as well-rounded as Jazz, since they could have complimented his personality more than just as a) comic relief and b) someone to bare his soul to. But in the end, Jazz is still a pretty cool guy.

One thing I Hunt Killers might be lacking is staying power. I’m not sure it impacted me in the way I want my books to. This book is really, really entertaining, but is it something I’ll remember down the road? I’m not sure. Maybe it will, though, and that would be awesome.

However, I most definitely and certainly recommend this book. I discussed that my meter for determining squick factor is skewed, so I can’t say if it’s the kind of book that would bother different people or not. But serial killers are an interesting topic for sure, Barry Lyga’s prose is absolutely addicting, and I found myself having a lot of fun while reading this book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
1 results - showing 1 - 1
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Gathering Blue (The Giver Quartet #2)
 
3.3
"MY THOUGHTS If you're expecting a sequel to The Giver, you will be very disappointed. The two books are completely..."
Gathering Blue (The Giver Quartet #2)
 
4.7
"Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry is an amazing book. I would recommend this book to kids age 11-adult because this..."
 
2.7
"This book was an easy read and I enjoyed that the events of the present were broken up by chapters..."
 
4.0
"What I Loved: The Off Season differs quite a bit from Dairy Queen. Where in Dairy Queen, the focus is..."
Dairy Queen
 
4.0
"What I Liked: Though I haven't had much chance to reread since I began blogging, it's one of my favorite..."
 
5.0
"I loved this book I really don’t know where to start with this review. Because I loved Dairy Queen (especially..."
Dairy Queen
 
4.0
"D.J. Schwenk is a “cow.” Or at least, that’s what Brian Nelson thinks, since she runs her family’s farm by..."
 
3.7
"Wildthorn is not an ideal choice for those in search of happy fun times all the way through, but definitely..."
Dairy Queen
 
5.0
"I really need to pick up the second book!"
 
5.0
"Who put me here? That is the question that Louisa Cosgrove keeps thinking of as she is held captive in..."
 
5.0
"A stunning conclusion to one of my favorite trilogies. I love that Tolkien's world is so thoroughly built. I can..."
 
4.7
"This isn't my favorite of the Lord of the Rings trilogy, mostly because it is obviously a middle book and..."
 
4.0
"Seventeen-year-old Louisa Cosgrove finds herself taken by a horse-drawn carriage to Wildthorn Hall, an asylum for the insane. She's..."
Fire Will Fall
 
4.0
"Fire Will Fall picks up where Streams of Babel left off. The Trinity Four have been isolated in a..."
Dairy Queen
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by B I was inspired to write this review because this book was recently a Jeopardy question..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Mairi Football season started well for Red Bend, as they defeated Hawley for the first time..."
Crazy Beautiful
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Yan In the back of the book the description compares this book to that of Disneys Beauty..."
Boy Toy
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Erica Boy ToyBarry LygaRelease Date: September 24, 2007Publisher: GraphiaPages: 416Rating: 4 starsFive years ago Joshs life changed...."
Ghost Huntress: The Awakening
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Lizzy It took me a while to get into this book. In fact, at first I was..."