Extras

 
5.0
 
4.1 (31)
2400 0

User reviews

3 reviews with 2 stars

31 reviews

 
(15)
 
(9)
 
(3)
 
(3)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Plot 
 
4.2  (31)
Characters 
 
4.0  (4)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (4)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
3 results - showing 1 - 3
Ordering
Extras! Why, Scott, Why?!
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Kyla

I finished reading the first three books in the series (Uglies, Pretties, and Specials) and loved them (Especially Pretties, read my review of Pretties) and wanted to read Extras SOOOOOOOOO bad! I got it from the library and started reading it. It was SOOOOOOO boring! I perservered and kept reading because I loved Scott's other books in the series. It took me FOREVER to get through the first, like, five chapters because it just didn't hold my attention and I had to renew the book. I read a little more, again, not holding my attention I loved the whole IDEA but the way it was written was pretty boring! I stopped reading it eventually, not even getting to the part where there's, I guess, ALIENS and Tally and her friends come in. I only know about those because of the reviews on here. I sorta wish I had finished reading just to know how it ends but I am also glad I stopped. I didn't like how it was about this chick named Aya Fuse, I really liked Tally and her story (Even though Tally's story was kinda predictable) I wish, if Scott HAD to write another book in this series, that it would be about Tally. I just don't like Aya she annoys me! Bottom line: I like the rest of the series and the CONCEPT of this book, but Extras was just boring and unable to hold my attention. I mean, COME ON, SCOTT! REALLY?! YOU COULDN'T HAVE WRITTEN IT BETTER?! I don't understand what the people that liked it are thinking. Then again, they actually read the whole book. This book REALLY disappointed me.
~Kyla : )
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
Disappointment...
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Kit-Kat

So I read the three other books in this trilogy turned four-book series, and I enjoyed them, especially Specials. But I wish the story would have stopped there.
It started out with a lot of potential. The scenario was a very original and therefore interesting one. But as I read on, the plot just seemed to drag along. As far as I could tell, there was no climax. The "adventures" weren't enough to capture my attention and the plot was just boring, boring, boring.
Also, the main character, Aya's obsession with fame and always having to be on camera before she did something was annoying. I felt she didn't grab how serious certain situations were, she was so concerned with how she came off in it. Speaking of character, all of them seemed kind of flat. There was not enough development or individuality for me to actually care what happened to them.
So why did I finish reading it if it was that bad? Because Westerfeld's other books are amazing and I kept telling myself that it was going to get better. But it didn't...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Extras: just another book leeching off the success of the others.
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Kelby

I, like most devoted readers of the young adult genre, read the uglies series (uglies, pretties, specials) with complete hunger for the next book. The plot and characters created such issues and questions in the real world.

naturally, I went crazy when I found out that a fourth book was to be released, Extras.
I bought Extras and started reading.
At first, I found the book to go slowly and thought that I just needed to get into it.
however, as I read on, still excited and entranced by the other books, I found that Extras did not have the luster of the other three.

In fact, it was boring.

The characters leave something to be desired..what is it?...development???
yeah.
and Tally's appearence angered me, as it seemed to be all about her again. and she is NOT fun from someone else's point of view. It was predictable and boring.

overall, I found this book only got extremely high sales because people bought it looking for something to quench their thirst for uglies.
I don't think I'll be picking it up again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
3 results - showing 1 - 3
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."