Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1474
"Remember always to head into the wind..."
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
London, 1677. Twelve-year-old Meg Moore is the only daughter of a well-to-do bookseller who has brought her up to run the family business. But when her widowed father decides to marry again, Meg's inheritance--and therefore her future--are suddenly not so certain, and it will take all her wits for her to come out on top again.

Katherine Sturtevant has created a wonderful protagonist in Meg: clever, observant, frank--everything a proper English girl of the late 17th century shouldn't be, and everything a modern-day reader wants a heroine to be. At the Sign of the Star is a rare character-driven novel where every scene, every carefully-chosen word contributes to the vivid and detailed portrait of an interesting historical period and the situation of the women who lived in it. Fans of Sally Gardner's I, Coriander or Ann Turnbull's No Shame, No Fear will love this empowering tale of a girl who learns to face her challenges head-on.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Mouse's first day of school. It's Dinosaur's first day...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved Bangladeshi...
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From hot dogs and hamburgers to ice cream and pizza,...
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As their communities were being destroyed, groups of Jewish women...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger to...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Blast off into outer space with this mess-free sticker craft!...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...

Latest Member Reviews

The Most Dangerous Place on Earth
 
2.0
" I received a free copy from the publisher through Netgalley. The Most Dangerous Place on Earth centers around a..."
Eve of Man
 
4.0
"EVE OF MAN by Giovanna and Tom Fletcher is the latest in YA dystopias. In the story, a phenomenon of..."
Dragons in a Bag (Dragons in a  Bag, # 1)
 
4.0
"Dragons in a Bag is a whimsical, moving, and magical tale. Perfectly tailored to it’s intended audience, Dragons In a..."
Wonder
 
4.5
" Aiming on the younger end of the Middle Grade spectrum, Wonder is the story of a disfigured 5th grader..."
 
4.5
"Ali-A, Clare, and their dog Eevee are attending a launch party for the game Alien Liberator 2. Ali-A gets ready..."
Comic Squad: Detention!
 
4.0
"Eight different author/illustrators bring to life (and panel) eight different stories told via sequential art, with the uniting theme of..."
Olive and the Backstage Ghost
 
5.0
"OLIVE AND THE BACKSTAGE GHOST is a middle grade horror/ghost story that is full of suspense. Olive loves to sing,..."
The Amber Spyglass (His Dark Materials #3)
 
2.3
"I didn't enjoy this series very much. The daemons (souls that look like animals) but it changed drastically in the..."
Poison's Kiss
 
5.0
""A teenage assassin kills with a single kiss.... Until she is ordered to kill the one boy she loves." ..."
Angels in the Dark
 
4.0
"List of all 7 stories: What Happened to Trevor Arriane's Day Out Daniel in L.A. Miles in the Dark..."
Shuffle, Repeat
 
4.3
"June isn't happy that her mother has chosen to move out into the country, especially since she has arranged for..."
The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
 
3.0
"Nine-year-old Bruno is growing up in Berlin during World War II. After Bruno’s father is promoted to a Commandant, he..."
Puppy Pirates #3: Catnapped!
 
5.0
"Okay, this is incredibly adorable and so creative! I didn’t think a book about dogs could get any more..."
The Chocolate War
 
3.7
"Jerry Renault, is a freshmen at Trinity, a Catholic high school for boys. He is a quiet and reserved student,..."
These Shallow Graves
 
4.0
"This is for those who are into Historical Fiction, centering on the 19th century. It's close to the time of..."
Alive
 
3.3
"The author and publisher of Alive requested that the bloggers chosen to review the book not reveal too much information..."
I Know What You Did Last Summer
 
2.3
"Four high school students, Julie, Helen, Barry and Ray are returning from a party when they accidentally hit a young..."
Alive
 
4.0
" "Don't base reality on what you have seen when you have seen very little." If you’re a..."
Deception's Pawn (Deception's Princess #2)
 
4.7
"In this sequel to Deception's Princess, Maeve, the favorite daughter of the evil High King is being fostered at Dun..."
Eragon (Inheritance #1)
 
3.7
"The Inheritance Cycle certainly has a lot of pros and cons. But I think the pros definitely outweigh the cons...."