Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 2055
High School Bites...But This Book Doesn't!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Jocelyn

Everybody who is there now or has ever been there knows that high school sucks. Anyone who says he or she enjoyed high school is either insane, blocking out all but two days of it, or lying. But for Lucy, there's more to it than her chia-pet hair, evil math teacher, or getting a driver's license. For her, high school really bites. When she turns sixteen, her father, who hasn't left the house in years (she has to carry an entire keyring to unlock the front door, with locks and keys color-coded in nail polish) gives her an unusual gift. What she gets is an old leather-bound book. It's the diary of her mother, her grandmother, her great-grandmother, and even her great-great-grandmother. All named Lucy. The original Lucy was, apparently, a friend of Bram Stoker's. And, says Lucy's father, Bram Stoker's Dracula was a true story. Complete with Henry Irving the vampire being a real (but not exactly live) person. As well as Lucy and Mina.

That's the explanation for the weird coincidences in Lucy's life. She has a best friend named Mina. Lucy's also been having weird dreams that are the same as those described in the diary by the women who came before her. Her English teacher has just started a unit on Dracula. Oh, and her boyfriend? Vic Irving. Yeah, of the same Irving family. Can she, her friends, and her father destroy Dracula once and for all with the help of crucifixes, holy water, and garlic perfume?

High School Bites is a great, fast-paced and well-told story. There have been a ton of vampire books for young adults released recently, most of them good, and this one is no exception. If you're a fan of vampire books, this great read is definitely one to add to your collection. The characters are interesting and well-written, as well as being more than what's on the surface. There's more to it than meets the eye here, which always makes a story more interesting. Liza Conrad's writing flows nicely, and I'm definitely looking forward to her next book, The Poker Diaries, due out next March. I am also hoping for more to read in The Lucy Chronicles, and I'm sure other readers will feel the same after reading this novel!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maia Tamarin proved her skill as a tailor when...
Call of the Rift: Flight
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kateiko doesn’t want to be Rin anymore —...

Latest Member Reviews

We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
"Carmen Santos cover as a La Voz soldier has been exposed. She flees back to the La Voz's headquarters, leaving..."
I'll Give You the Sun
 
5.0
"I’ll Give You the Sun is a masterpiece of the Young Adult genre, perfectly incorporating the feel of what it..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Release
 
4.0
"Wildly original--and completely realistic--Release is a whirlwind of a tale, one that will leave you both completely confused, yet satiated...."
How to Be You: Stop Trying to Be Someone Else and Start Living Your Life
 
4.0
"Before reading this I had not heard of Jeffrey Marsh, but after reading this book I can tell you that..."
Fan Art
 
4.3
"Sarah Tregay’s Fan Art is a hopeful and charming coming-of-age YA novel about the experiences of first love, coming out,..."
Two Boys Kissing
 
4.7
"Two Boys Kissing is an utterly unique novel, not only in its structure but in its innovative exploration of LGBTQI+..."
If You Could Be Mine
 
5.0
"This review can also be found at http://fortheloveofbooksreviews.blogspot.ca/2016/10/if-you-could-be-mine-by-sara-farizan.html Sahar is in love with her friend, Nasrin. But..."
Symptoms of Being Human
 
4.3
"What I Liked: Riley explains genderfluidity as a dial. It’s somewhere in the middle on some days, all the..."
An Infinite Number of Parallel Universes
 
3.0
"Random note: There are a lot of great quotes in this book. My favorite one by far is this: "We..."
An Infinite Number of Parallel Universes
 
4.0
"One of my best friends let me borrow her Monster Manuel when she was trying to recruit me to play..."
Openly Straight
 
4.3
"Rafe's entire life has been colored by the fact that he is gay. He is comfortable with who he..."
Openly Straight
 
4.7
"Openly Straight addresses the fact that being gay is just one of the traits of one person, and being gay..."
I'll Give You the Sun
 
5.0
"Beautifully flawed characters and a story to stir the soul. One of the best YA books I've read in a..."
I'll Give You the Sun
 
N/A
"I have always heard amazing things from Jandy Nelson's first book "The Sky is Everywhere" and when I got a..."
I'll Give You the Sun
 
4.7
"What I Loved: This book is beautiful. I just cannot even with how amazing this book actually is. If you..."
I'll Give You the Sun
 
3.7
"What I loved: I loved how it wasn’t necessarily a love story — though, there is the cutest romance..."
Fan Art
 
3.0
"What I Liked: The main character, Jamie, seems to be the main factor for whether or not you like this..."
Teeth
 
3.7
"Great to have a male protagonist in YA. This was an interesting story that takes place on a lonely island..."
Made of Stars
 
4.7
"A sign of a great writer?- The reader becomes so emotionally invested in the characters that they can’t let go...."