Review Detail

Prom Hot
Young Adult Fiction 8666
Pastries, dresses, limos, rat costumes, friendship & more!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Ashley isn’t exactly the richest kid on the block. With many siblings and two hard working parents, her house can get pretty crowded. Even with their small house and many kids, Ashley’s parents have another kid that will soon enter the world. Her job at EZ-CHEEZE-E in a rat costume serving pizza to whining kids isn’t a dream come true. But Ashley won’t be in her crowded little home for long—she plans to move in with her boy friend, TJ, to their new apartment. At least she has her friend Natalia (a.k.a. Nat) for a next door neighbor, but along with Nat is her slightly crazy grandmother that can only speak Russian and is obsessed with bathing, swimming, and anything else that has to do with water! Despite her not-picture-perfect life, Ashley is happy in her own way—she’s independent, confident, spunky and smart.

However, when Ashley’s math teacher steals the prom money, the senior class is in crisis—especially Ashley’s friends who all but live for the prom. To Ashley, it’s not a big deal; she wasn’t planning to go to the prom anyway. But when her friend Natalia (also her next-door neighbor) works for hours to try to pull together resources—hotels, food, etc—to rescue and bring back prom to no avail, Ashley gets dragged into the situation. She sees how some of her friends were really looking forward to prom—and sees how some of them truly deserve it, after what they’ve gone through. Ashley offers some unusual but not useable ideas for prom. Nat and some of Ashley’s other friends support her idea, but will the principle and Mr. Gilroy, the strict vice principle go for it? With Ashley’s bad resume filled with detention and bad attitude, Mr. Gilroy is out to stop Ashley’s scheme. With only days to go, how will Ashley and the prom committee go from almost nothing to a successful prom?

Once Ashley’s parents and aunts find out that Ashley has pretty much taken charge of bringing prom back to life, they rush to gather resources—dresses, shoes, purses, and more!—so Ashley can go to the prom. But dresses and make up isn’t Ashley’s top priority; she must find food, napkins, decorations, and persuade the staff to help them. But Nat’s grandmother comes to the rescue with her amazing pastries that are now used to bribe the staff. What other magical talents does this eccentric old lady have?

Besides prom troubles, Ashley and TJ haven’t been going down a smooth road in their relationship either. With disputes and harsh words between them, all is not well. But TJ wants to make it up to her—but will Ashley see through him? Things don’t get any better when TJ shows Ashley their new apartment—some of it is used for storage of the owner’s stuff, and it isn’t exactly her dream apartment. It’s small and rather gross. Will she move in with TJ and stick with him? Or will Ashley finally listen to what her friends are telling her about her boyfriend and see that he really is a low-life kid?

Will Ashley and Co. be able to pull together a prom worth going to? Will Ashley go to the prom? And even if they do—will anyone come to the prom? A prom in the gym is not the same as a hotel ball room. But Ashley still has a few tricks up her sleeve to make this prom a success!

Prom is a coming-of-age story with some funny bits about a spunky girl that’s out to prove herself and help her friends! Although there are a few implications of some mature themes, Prom is a lighter novel than Speak (also by Laurie Halse Anderson) and will be enjoyed by teenage readers!
D2
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 5 5

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Admission
 
5.0
"‘Admission’ by Julie Buxbaum is a modern and definitely current read on a topic that has been in the news...."
Running
 
5.0
"‘Running’ by Natalia Sylvester is a trend-setting anthem for anyone who has ever wanted to be the change they wish..."
The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."