Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 290
intriguing YA fantasy
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
A SEASON OF SINISTER DREAMS is an engaging YA fantasy that follows two young women, Evra and Annalise. Annalise lives in the palace as the niece to the king. She hides her powerful magic that threatens to overtake her, as she has vowed for herself and her mother that she will change the way the kingdom is being run. When she is engaged to a foreign nobleman, her anger becomes dangerous, and it affects the person in her vicinity, with dangerous and deadly consequences. As she tries to cover up what she has done, she soon learns it has made her the new heir, potentially allowing her to make the changes she is so desperate for - if her secrets are not exposed.

Evra is a magicless daughter of farmers in a poor village, amongst the country of poor villagers. Almost everyone is born with magic, though the strength of it varies from person to person. Between the king's taxes and his claiming of everyone of strong magical ability, the village is bereft. They do not have the magic they need to keep their crops alive and protect their houses, and they do not have money to buy it from elsewhere. As the only person in their village without any magic, Evra faces a lot of prejudice, and she has learned to fend for herself. Soon, however, she learns that she has a special type of magic that feels like a curse - she is a Clearsee, someone who can see the past and future and speak with ghosts. This power only appears to someone in her line when the kingdom is in danger.

Evra does not understand what the visions she has means, and she faces opposition from Annalise who fears her secrets will be revealed. Although they seem at odds, both young women are each trying to create a better country.

What I loved: This was a slowly building plot with a heavy air of mystery as we seek to unravel the world Annalise has made for herself and the lies that have seemingly become truths. Annalise herself does not seem to know how to separate the consequences of her magic from reality. Both Evra and Annalise were compelling characters. Their ethics and decisions are, at times, twisted, but their reasonings and rationales are described. Although the reader may not agree, they can understand what has led to the present.

This is a kingdom which is suffering. There are some interesting themes of ruling, wealth disparity, and deciding on consequences/punishment that were thought-provoking at times. The making of a villain is another major plot point, and the gray/borderline ethics of Annalise's decisions and magic are present throughout. This was definitely something I wanted to discuss outside of the book, as it's not a simple equation, and I think this would make a great book club read.

I enjoyed the magical elements, as magic manifests differently for different people, and I would have loved to learn even more about its origin and history. The Clearsee magic was particularly intriguing, and I really enjoyed what we do learn about it.

Final verdict: Overall, A SEASON OF SINISTER DREAMS is a compelling YA fantasy. Recommend for fans of FURYBORN, THE QUEEN'S RISING, and SWEET AND BITTER MAGIC.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bluebird
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for...
Merci Suárez Can't Dance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh grade is going to be a real trial...
When You Know What I Know
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This harrowing, and ultimately hopeful novel in verse sensitively...
Between Perfect and Real
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving YA debut about a trans boy finding...
The Cost of Knowing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Martin meets They Both Die at the End...
Gold Spun
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
If Nor can't spin gold, she can always spin...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic...
Small Favors
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ellerie Downing is waiting for something to happen. Life...
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey through a magical woodland, with poems to read and...
Bunny Will Not Jump!: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the endless imagination of Jason Tharp comes a hilarious...
Milo's Christmas Parade
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new picture book from Jennie Palmer starring Milo, a...
Slow Down: 50 Mindful Moments in Nature
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Slow down to watch 50 nature stories that command calm...
Once Upon A Pizza: Eight Crazy Ways Pizza Wasn't Really Invented, And One It Might Have Been
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone loves pizza, but how was it invented? ...
A Kid's Guide to Fandom: Exploring Fan-Fic, Cosplay, Gaming, Podcasting, and More in the Geek World!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Help young fans get in touch with their inner geeks...
Awaken    Book 1 The A'vean Chronicles
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
SOME PEOPLE AREN'T DESTINED TO BE ORDINARY. With a...
Pipsqueaks, Slowpokes, and Stinkers: Celebrating Animal Underdogs
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Underdogs, unite! Celebrated nonfiction author Melissa Stewart offers young readers...

Latest Member Reviews

Firebrand (Steeplejack #2)
 
4.7
"Now working as a private detective/spy, Ang may be living a financially healthier life than her years a steeplejack, but..."
Steeplejack
 
4.0
"Anglet Sutonga, 17, is one, if not the, best steeplejack in Bar-Selehm. Her job involves climbing factories and tall buildings..."