Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 435
intriguing continuation of an enthralling YA fantasy series
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE CRUELEST MERCY is an intriguing second book in an enthralling YA fantasy series. After the rush and danger of the competition in the first book, Zahru is happy to have survived. She has returned to the capital to see Jet crowned as the next Mestrah or ruler of Orkena. From the near-sacrifice, Zahru has a remaining bruise that she soon realizes is actually the symbol that identifies her as the next ruler. She plans to keep silent about this until the coronation is broken up by Kasta, who has miraculously returned, and who also mysteriously has the mark.

Knowing that Kasta is full of lies and tricks, Zahru reveals her mark to contest his claim to the throne and delay his coronation. The current Mestrah, Kasta and Jet's father, delays the coronation and states that they should work together to rule during a probationary period of a moon. If one of them is unable to do so, they will be relegated to advisor while the other rules.

Zahru begins to question everything she knows about herself, her kingdom, and her ethics as she seeks to figure out the plots behind Kasta's reappearance and his plan for their country.

What I loved: This world is beautifully imagined, and the magic and related magic-based caste system is really thought-provoking. The writing pulls the reader into the story and has them questioning Zahru as she questions herself and what she believes to be true. Whether Kasta is back with good intentions or not is a constant unknown that fluctuates with what they know and believe. The twists that this second story takes keep the reader on their toes.

There are some interesting themes around trust, personal ethics, and revenge that I found to be thought-provoking. Zahru knows Kasta as the boy who grew up learning to twist everything to survive and gain love, but she also knows him as the man who marked her for sacrifice and then actually sacrificed her. As she tries to wrap her head around these two aspects of his personality and stop his ascent to the throne, she must determine how much of her actions are for revenge and which parts of herself and her ethics she is willing to let go of in the quest for it. Zahru's personality is not yet set in stone, and she is reaching to identify herself and what she wants most while she also attempts to expose Kasta and prevent his ascent to the throne.

The romance in this book was almost non-existent, but I did not miss it too much, though I hope we'll get more insight and resolution in the next book. I did really appreciate how most of the major questions in this book were answered by the end of it, though there is certainly more to come. This helped the book to not feel so much like a middle story, but I am still eager to read the next!

Final verdict: Atmospheric, twisty, and engaging, THE CRUELEST MERCY weaves a YA fantasy with compelling characters, thought-provoking themes, and intriguing world-building. A solid sequel to the first, readers will definitely be eager to continue this series with the next! Highly recommend this series for fans of THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS, THE RED QUEEN, and AN EMBER IN THE ASHES.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bluebird
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for...
Merci Suárez Can't Dance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh grade is going to be a real trial...
When You Know What I Know
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This harrowing, and ultimately hopeful novel in verse sensitively...
Between Perfect and Real
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving YA debut about a trans boy finding...
The Cost of Knowing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Martin meets They Both Die at the End...
Gold Spun
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
If Nor can't spin gold, she can always spin...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic...
Small Favors
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ellerie Downing is waiting for something to happen. Life...
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey through a magical woodland, with poems to read and...
Bunny Will Not Jump!: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the endless imagination of Jason Tharp comes a hilarious...
Milo's Christmas Parade
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new picture book from Jennie Palmer starring Milo, a...
Slow Down: 50 Mindful Moments in Nature
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Slow down to watch 50 nature stories that command calm...
Once Upon A Pizza: Eight Crazy Ways Pizza Wasn't Really Invented, And One It Might Have Been
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone loves pizza, but how was it invented? ...
A Kid's Guide to Fandom: Exploring Fan-Fic, Cosplay, Gaming, Podcasting, and More in the Geek World!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Help young fans get in touch with their inner geeks...
Awaken    Book 1 The A'vean Chronicles
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
SOME PEOPLE AREN'T DESTINED TO BE ORDINARY. With a...
Pipsqueaks, Slowpokes, and Stinkers: Celebrating Animal Underdogs
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Underdogs, unite! Celebrated nonfiction author Melissa Stewart offers young readers...

Latest Member Reviews

More Ryan's World of Science: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
5.0
"MORE RYAN'S WORLD OF SCIENCE features science experiments that are Ryan approved. Not only is this book full of science,..."
Slow Down: 50 Mindful Moments in Nature
 
5.0
"SLOW DOWN contains 50 moments in nature that people will miss on a normal day. Everyone is so busy with..."
Pipsqueaks, Slowpokes, and Stinkers: Celebrating Animal Underdogs
 
4.7
"PIPSQUEAKS, SLOWPOKES, and SQUEAKERS highlights the underdogs of the animal kingdom. There's an Amau from who is small enough to..."
Beneath the Waves
 
5.0
"BENEATH THE WAVES includes everything ocean related, from Secrets of the Shell, to poems, to creatures and their food sources...."
Horse Power: How Horses Changed the World
 
5.0
"HORSE POWER is a well-illustrated book that talks about the large part horses play in our history. The delve into..."
Weird But True Ocean
 
5.0
"'Weird but True! Ocean: 300 Fin-Tastic Facts from the Deep Blue Sea' by National Geographic Kids is rife with incredibly..."
A Shot in the Arm (Big Ideas that Changed the World)
 
4.3
"Disease isn't new. Pandemics aren't new. Even vaccinations aren't new. But when you're in grade school, everything is new! (Well,..."
Go Wild! Sea Turtles
 
5.0
"GO WILD! SEA TURTLES is a really fascinating book that teaches young children all about sea turtles. The book gives..."
Go Wild! Pandas
 
4.7
"GO WILD! PANDAS is a cool nonfiction picture book with lots of interesting facts about giant pandas. The book discusses..."
How to Talk to a Tiger... And Other Animals: How Critters Communicate in the Wild
 
3.7
"HOW TO TALK TO A TIGER... AND OTHER ANIMALS is an intriguing non-fiction picture book that teaches about the many..."
365 Words for Clever Kids!
 
4.7
"'365 Words for Clever Kids!' by Dr. Meredith L. Rowe and Monika Forsberg, provides a great service. It capitalizes on..."
RESPECT: Aretha Franklin, the Queen of Soul
 
5.0
"'R-E-S-P-E-C-T: Aretha Franklin, the Queen of Soul' by Carole Boston Weatherford, art by Frank Morrison, includes incredible images, highlighting the..."
Yosemite: Ready-to-Read Level 1 (Wonders of America)
 
5.0
"'Wonders of America: Yosemite' by Marion Dane Bauer, illustrated by John Wallace, will make readers eager to take a vacation..."
What's Inside a Flower?
 
4.7
"'What's Inside a Flower? (and Other Questions about Science & Nature)' by Rachel Ignotofsky, is a beautifully illustrated book with..."
Loveblock
 
4.0
"LOVEBLOCK is an adorable, engaging book that is full of both animals and love. Each page talks about how love..."
Sharkblock
 
5.0
"SHARKBLOCK uses a unique approach to teach children about the various species of sharks living under the sea. With colorful..."
Welcome to New York: A Little Engine that Could Road Trip
 
4.3
"WELCOME TO NEW YORK is a delightful board book adventure with the Little Engine that Could, as she heads to..."
Welcome to California: A Little Engine that Could Road Trip
 
4.7
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is an adorable Little Engine book that takes the reader on a trip through some of the..."
Rolling Warrior: The Incredible, Sometimes Awkward, True Story of a Rebel Girl on Wheels Who Helped Spark a Revolution
 
4.7
"Born in 1947, Heumann had polio at a very young age, leaving her legs and arms very weak. She was..."
Ghosts Unveiled! (Creepy and True #2)
 
5.0
"Ghosts are something that middle school students still think might be real; we have a lot of conversations about this..."