Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 840
fantastic YA contemporary with important themes
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE (UN)POPULAR VOTE is a fantastic YA contemporary about embracing your differences, standing up for what you believe in, and the power of acceptance. Mark is trans, and his coming out was really difficult. His mother believed in him and fought for him, while his father made him a bargain to hide who he is and pretend to be a cis guy with a very low profile, while he insists on constantly using his deadname and referring to it as a phase.

When he sees a fellow student being bullied for his queer identity and then forced by the administration to apologize for the resultant fight, Mark begins to question his hiding persona. When that student, Benji, writes a moving piece about why he won't apologize and why he shouldn't have to, Mark feels called to action. The school policies that allow hate speech and bullying but punish those that react to it need to be changed. After discussing with his BFF Jenny and his mother, Mark decides to run for school president, determined to make a change in unfair school policies and stand up for everyone who feels that they don't fit in at the school.

As he begins running, much to his congressman father's dismay, Mark will learn more about his classmates and himself than he ever could have expected.

What I loved: This book speaks to the soul, and the compelling characters and solid plot craft a story that needs to be heard. Mark felt so genuine, and he is dealing with the challenges of high school, the lack of acceptance from his father, and dynamics of friendships and relationships - while also running a campaign. The story is quite emotional at times (in the best way), but also manages to mix in some swoon and humor throughout.

I found the other characters to be well-developed and appreciated their inclusion and stories. Among Mark's French Club group (the informal GSA, since the GSA at their school is composed of only performative allies), there are some really memorable and delightful people who I would have loved getting to know even better. Of course, Mark's romantic interest certainly steals the heart, but I also adored Rachel and Nadia, who make a great power couple and have strong personalities and political prowess. Benji is also a compelling character who makes no apologies and embraces himself fully. Jenny and Pablo, Mark's BFFs, are also people I would love to get to know better. I feel like there could be some really awesome spinoff books from this one with these characters, as they were all people I would love to know more.

Beyond the themes mentioned above, there are some really important themes/discussions in the story that would make this a great pick for the classroom or for a book group. The book discusses coming out (the importance of it being unforced) and heteronormativity of it, the real meaning of allyship, the importance of safe spaces and acceptance for teens, the double standards for men/women in relationships, politics, and optics, privilege, and the power in being heard. Although some of these topics are brief, they are important and merit discussion. The book does a great job of discussing them as they come up. This ultimately ended up being an uplifting read that leaves the reader with hope - an ever-valuable commodity.

Final verdict: THE (UN)POPULAR VOTE is a charming, delightful, and important YA contemporary read that I absolutely adored. Highly recommend for fans of MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE, JAY'S GAY AGENDA, and RED, WHITE, AND ROYAL BLUE.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Fresh
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A hilarious and vulnerable coming-of-age story about the thrilling new...
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this thrilling adventure, our magical heroine embarks on a...
Bluebird
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for...
Merci Suárez Can't Dance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh grade is going to be a real trial...
When You Know What I Know
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This harrowing, and ultimately hopeful novel in verse sensitively...
Between Perfect and Real
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving YA debut about a trans boy finding...
The Cost of Knowing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Martin meets They Both Die at the End...
Gold Spun
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
If Nor can't spin gold, she can always spin...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic...
Small Favors
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ellerie Downing is waiting for something to happen. Life...
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey through a magical woodland, with poems to read and...
Bunny Will Not Jump!: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the endless imagination of Jason Tharp comes a hilarious...
Milo's Christmas Parade
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new picture book from Jennie Palmer starring Milo, a...
Slow Down: 50 Mindful Moments in Nature
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Slow down to watch 50 nature stories that command calm...
Once Upon A Pizza: Eight Crazy Ways Pizza Wasn't Really Invented, And One It Might Have Been
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone loves pizza, but how was it invented? ...
A Kid's Guide to Fandom: Exploring Fan-Fic, Cosplay, Gaming, Podcasting, and More in the Geek World!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Help young fans get in touch with their inner geeks...

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found