Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 227
charming YA contemporary
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
SISTER OF THE BOLLYWOOD BRIDE is an engaging YA contemporary read about sisterhood, family, and community with a dash of romance. Mini, short for Padmini, loves fashion and her family. Her sister, Vinnie, has just announced that she is getting married while in the process of switching from medical school to residency. Knowing that her sister does not have time to plan the wedding, Mini decides to take on the task. Since their mother died a few years earlier, Mini feels like she needs to step up to do this wedding for not only her sister, but also in the way her mother would have wanted.

As she plans the wedding, she finds herself rallying her community around her. Planning a wedding is no easy task. The universe seems aligned against her at times, but with her won't-quit attitude, Mini Kapoor is going to put together the best wedding she can and one that will be perfect for her sister Vinnie.

What I loved: There are a lot of great moments around family and sisterhood, not only with Mini and her sister, but also with her mother's sister and her relationships with extended family. Particularly powerful in the book was the show of community as others step in to help Mini to plan the perfect wedding. The book spends a lot of time planning (and then some re-planning) the wedding, but I also particularly enjoyed those moments spent outside it.

Mini feels a lot of pressure to major in something STEM-related like her sister when she goes to school, but her passion really lies with fashion and design. As she works on the wedding, she is also beginning to learn that her passion is also a talent. The romance was also really cute, and I loved their meet-cute and the way things slowly developed. I would have loved even more of this cute rom-com couple!

The book manages to mix in a lot of humor throughout, and it was a very charming read. I would definitely recommend for people who enjoy rom-coms and particularly wedding-themed reads.

Final verdict: Overall, SISTER OF THE BOLLYWOOD BRIDE is a sweet YA contemporary read that shows the power of community, family, and persistence. Recommend for fans of SAVE THE DATE, WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI, and ALWAYS AND FOREVER.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Neighborhood Surprise
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
All the children in the neighborhood like Mrs. Fig. She...
Jet the Cat (Is Not a Cat)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jet is not like any other cat . . ....
Clique Here: A Wish Novel
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lily loves science and hanging out with her best friend,...
Smoke and Mirrors: The Heartstone
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Corbin, a powerful shapeshifting young mage, was just beginning to...
Better Together
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Freaky Friday meets The Parent Trap in New York Times...
Llama Llama Meets the Babysitter
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
With over 30 million copies in print, Anna Dewdney's New...
City (Wheels at Work)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Delivering, collecting, transporting and recycling! Lift the flap to see...
A Season of Flowers
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Michael Garland (Daddy Played the Blues) displays his impressive illustration...
You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...

Latest Member Reviews

All's Happy That Ends Happy
 
4.0
"In this seventh and final book in the series, we catch up in Sweden with Dani, who has recently been..."
Revenge of the Red Club
 
5.0
"Riley is an investigative reporter for her very realistic and small school newspaper. She loves to write and wants to..."
Home is Where the Heart Is (Good Dog #1)
 
5.0
"In the first book in this charming new early chapter book series, we meet Bo, who lives on a farm..."
Rescue at Lake Wild
 
5.0
"Madi and her friends Aaron and Jack live in Willow Grove, a small town where they are able to go..."
girl stuff
 
4.0
"Fonda is super excited that her best friends and neighbors (nesties!) will be going to her middle school for 7th..."
A Collie Called Sky (Jasmine Green Rescues #3)
 
4.5
"Jasmine lives on a farm in England with her mother, who is a veterinarian, her father, who raises sheep, younger..."
Jasmine Green Rescues: A Kitten Called Holly (#4)
 
4.5
"When a barn cat has babies, Jasmine and Tom are surprised to find them. They've scared the mother, and she..."
The Elephant in the Room
 
5.0
"Sila's family has been happy in Oregon, even though her father, who is a mechanical engineer, has to work as..."
Yara's Spring
 
5.0
"Yara and her younger brother Saad are in a refugee camp in Jordan in 2016, waiting to hear what their..."
The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team: (The Derby Daredevils Book #1)
 
4.5
"Kenzie and her best friend Shelley love roller derby, a sport in which they are interested because Kenzie's mother is..."
Nina Soni: Sister Fixer
 
5.0
"After Nina Soni, Former Best Friend, Nina is back, and this time is concerned that her little sister is a..."
King and Kayla and the Case of the Unhappy Neighbor
 
4.0
"King's friend Thor is in big trouble. His owner, Jillian, got a call from the grumpy Mr. Gary that Thor..."
Storm Dog
 
4.0
"Ariel has a difficult home life in her Blue Ridge Mountain home in Virginia. It's not because of economics; her..."
Wrong Way Summer
 
4.0
"Claire's father has always been evasive when it comes to answering questions about her mother, who left the family when..."
Zeus, Dog of Chaos
 
5.0
"Madden is getting used to living with his mother, an Army lieutenant, after having spent a lot of time with..."
How to be a Girl in the World
 
4.0
"Lydia lives in an apartment in New York with her mom and her cousin, Emma. Emma's mother, who was African-American,..."
The Magnificent Mya Tibbs: Mya in the Middle
 
4.0
"Mya's exploits at school continue when her fourth grade class participates in an economics unit. The children get $25 from..."
Sabotage (Beatrice Zinker, Upside Down Thinker (3))
 
4.0
"Beatrice calls a meeting of Operation Upside with her friends Sam and Lenny, and they decide what the newest awards..."
I, Cosmo
 
4.0
"Cosmo is the "big brother" of Max and his young sister Emmaline, and is now 13 years old. He still..."
TBH, This is SO Awkward
 
4.0
"'TBH, This is SO Awkward: A Novel in Text' by Lisa Greenwald is quite interesting in that it is written..."