Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 561
enchanting YA fantasy with fantastic world-building and characters
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is an enchanting YA fantasy about sisterhood, power, and destiny. When twins are born in the royal line, one is destined to become the immortal firebird and the other queen. Although not born every generation, Asya and Izaveta are currently being trained in their destined roles, Asya to be the Firebird and Izaveta to be queen.

Asya is scared of who she will become - the Firebird is a magical creature that ensures the cost of magic is paid. When someone casts a spell, they should give something to the spell. If their price is not high enough, the Firebird is called and takes something from them to maintain the balance. The price can be a limb or even their life.

Izaveta is being trained in manipulation and power by their mother, who has mastered the indifference and cruelty needed to rule the country. She does not recognize who she used to be when she grew up with her twin sister. Her life is a game of people.

When the Queen (their mother) dies, the twins must come into their destined roles, a dangerous process when the country is seemingly conspiring against them to destroy the Firebird and the Queen.

What I loved: This was an absolutely captivating and atmospheric read. The world-building of this unique queendom and the parts the two sisters play was really intriguing. It was easy to get caught up in each of their roles and lives. The book is told from the perspectives of both twins, and I appreciated the ability to get into their minds and see all the sides of the situation. Neither twin has fully embraced their destiny, and their conflicts along with those of the world around them, propel the plot forward in unexpected ways. I appreciated the twists that I did not see coming and which blew me away towards the end.

There were also some really thought-provoking themes in the book about power, morality, destiny, religion, and sisterhood. Where would you draw the lines of acceptable actions if you felt that the end was right? How much power would you need to stop something you felt was wrong? The interplay of characters and the potent roles held by the twins was really fascinating. Many of the decisions they must make are in the moral gray, and they each acknowledge this but also try to decide who they want to be. As their personalities and desires solidify into the characters they have become, the book crescendos, and the pieces will fall where they must.

Betrayals, lessons learned, and intense themes add to the compelling writing and characters throughout. The roles of side characters, some of whose roles have yet to be fully revealed (second book now, please!), added to the world and stories therein to make this a captivating read. The romances that build in the book were secondary to some of the other plots, but I really enjoyed them, particularly the f/f romance that has enemies-to-lovers vibes.

Final verdict: Atmospheric, compelling, and with intriguing themes, THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is a captivating YA fantasy. With unexpected betrayals, strong character development, and intense world building, this book is absolutely riveting and highly devourable. Highly recommend for fans of THE MERCIFUL CROW, RED QUEEN, and THE WINTER DUKE.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 3 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Courtney Gould’s thrilling YA debut The Dead and the Dark...
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Blood, sweat, and death. Welcome...
Fresh
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A hilarious and vulnerable coming-of-age story about the thrilling new...
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this thrilling adventure, our magical heroine embarks on a...
Bluebird
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for...
Merci Suárez Can't Dance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh grade is going to be a real trial...
When You Know What I Know
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This harrowing, and ultimately hopeful novel in verse sensitively...
Between Perfect and Real
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving YA debut about a trans boy finding...
The Cost of Knowing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Martin meets They Both Die at the End...
Gold Spun
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
If Nor can't spin gold, she can always spin...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic...
Small Favors
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ellerie Downing is waiting for something to happen. Life...
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey through a magical woodland, with poems to read and...
Bunny Will Not Jump!: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the endless imagination of Jason Tharp comes a hilarious...
Milo's Christmas Parade
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new picture book from Jennie Palmer starring Milo, a...
Slow Down: 50 Mindful Moments in Nature
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Slow down to watch 50 nature stories that command calm...

Latest Member Reviews

Fearless
 
3.0
"Monica Garcia is thrilled to get an understudy role on Broadway. At 12, this is the first time she will..."
Paradise on Fire
 
4.0
"Addy lives in the Bronx with her grandmother, Bibi, who has moved from Nigeria to care for her after the..."
Tell No Tales: Pirates of the Southern Seas
 
4.5
"TELL NO TALES is a graphic novel that features Anne Bonny and her tale of pirating. She has an amazing..."
Into Darkness (Stuffed, Book 2) (Stuffed, 2)
 
4.0
"STUFFED INTO DARKNESS features Clark who is so excited to go to camp, where the Stuffies protect them from monsters...."
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
"IF YOU GO DOWN TO THE WOODS TODAY has a poem on each page which opens up to the items..."
Bunny Will Not Jump!: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
4.0
"Bear wants nothing more than for Bunny to jump, but he won't do it. Bunny doesn't want to jump and..."
Milo's Christmas Parade
 
5.0
"MILO'S CHRISTMAS PARADE features a little opossum who wants nothing more than to join the Christmas parade. For this reason,..."
Taking Care of Mama Rabbit
 
3.5
"When Mama Rabbit falls ill, it's up to Papa Rabbit to go get medicine and her children to make her..."
A Kid's Guide to Fandom: Exploring Fan-Fic, Cosplay, Gaming, Podcasting, and More in the Geek World!
 
5.0
"A KID'S GUIDE TO FANDOM is exactly what it says and is full of anything and everything nerdy. From cosplaying,..."
Mine
 
4.0
"Lily isn’t thrilled about her family’s move from Colorado to Florida. In Colorado, she had her drama club and her..."
The Republic of Birds
 
3.0
"Once, birds and humans lived together until a war erupted over a firebird’s egg. Now, the humans have their own..."
This Is the Glade Where Jack Lives: Or How a Unicorn Saved the Day
 
5.0
"THIS IS THE GLADE WHERE JACK LIVES is a new take on the traditional "This Is the House that Jack..."
The End Is Just the Beginning
 
5.0
"THE END IS JUST THE BEGINNING is exactly as the title reads. It's a story about how all endings are..."
Dust & Grim
 
4.0
"Thirteen-year-old Molly finds out she's entitled to part of a mortuary business after the death of her father. She also..."
Get Up, Elizabeth!
 
5.0
"Elizabeth needs to get out of bed because she's the princess and has a lot to do. As a princess...."
Happy Little Ogre
 
5.0
"HAPPY LITTLE OGRE features our favorite characters from Shrek as babies. It's full of ogre fun and silliness from burps..."
Clean-Up Time!: Ready-to-Read Pre-Level 1
 
5.0
"Our favorite character, Daniel the Tiger, heads to the park to play with his friends. But when they get there,..."
The Secret Starling
 
3.5
"Clara Starling is used to the drudgery of life with her uncle in his huge mansion. It’s all routine, cold..."
The Stitchers
 
4.0
"Quinn’s neighborhood is mostly normal, until you look at Goodie Lane. The residents of Goodie Lane have lived there for..."
Cardboardia: The Other Side of the Box
 
4.0
"Pokey is a very enthusiastic six-year-old living with her grandparents, older brother Mac, and imaginary friend, Colombo. On her brithday,..."