Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 438
enchanting YA fantasy with fantastic world-building and characters
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is an enchanting YA fantasy about sisterhood, power, and destiny. When twins are born in the royal line, one is destined to become the immortal firebird and the other queen. Although not born every generation, Asya and Izaveta are currently being trained in their destined roles, Asya to be the Firebird and Izaveta to be queen.

Asya is scared of who she will become - the Firebird is a magical creature that ensures the cost of magic is paid. When someone casts a spell, they should give something to the spell. If their price is not high enough, the Firebird is called and takes something from them to maintain the balance. The price can be a limb or even their life.

Izaveta is being trained in manipulation and power by their mother, who has mastered the indifference and cruelty needed to rule the country. She does not recognize who she used to be when she grew up with her twin sister. Her life is a game of people.

When the Queen (their mother) dies, the twins must come into their destined roles, a dangerous process when the country is seemingly conspiring against them to destroy the Firebird and the Queen.

What I loved: This was an absolutely captivating and atmospheric read. The world-building of this unique queendom and the parts the two sisters play was really intriguing. It was easy to get caught up in each of their roles and lives. The book is told from the perspectives of both twins, and I appreciated the ability to get into their minds and see all the sides of the situation. Neither twin has fully embraced their destiny, and their conflicts along with those of the world around them, propel the plot forward in unexpected ways. I appreciated the twists that I did not see coming and which blew me away towards the end.

There were also some really thought-provoking themes in the book about power, morality, destiny, religion, and sisterhood. Where would you draw the lines of acceptable actions if you felt that the end was right? How much power would you need to stop something you felt was wrong? The interplay of characters and the potent roles held by the twins was really fascinating. Many of the decisions they must make are in the moral gray, and they each acknowledge this but also try to decide who they want to be. As their personalities and desires solidify into the characters they have become, the book crescendos, and the pieces will fall where they must.

Betrayals, lessons learned, and intense themes add to the compelling writing and characters throughout. The roles of side characters, some of whose roles have yet to be fully revealed (second book now, please!), added to the world and stories therein to make this a captivating read. The romances that build in the book were secondary to some of the other plots, but I really enjoyed them, particularly the f/f romance that has enemies-to-lovers vibes.

Final verdict: Atmospheric, compelling, and with intriguing themes, THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is a captivating YA fantasy. With unexpected betrayals, strong character development, and intense world building, this book is absolutely riveting and highly devourable. Highly recommend for fans of THE MERCIFUL CROW, RED QUEEN, and THE WINTER DUKE.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 3 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites,...
Ember of Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
I am a weed. Unloved by my abusive, alcoholic...
Made in Korea
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good...
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fourteen-year-old Iranian-American Parvin Mohammadi sets out to win the...
Havoc (Haven, #2)
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the first time in his life, Rain Ryland...
Finding Junie Kim
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Junie Kim just wants to fit in. So she keeps...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Speak enters the world of Gossip Girl in this modern...
The Bachmann Family Secret
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jaret Bachmann travels with his family to his beloved...
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...

Latest Member Reviews

Finding Junie Kim
 
5.0
"Junie Kim faces racist comments from a school bully at her middle school. Along with that her school is vandalized..."
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
"NOSOTROS MEANS US is a beautiful bilingual picture book about the enduring and unconditional love between mother and child. The..."
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
No Adults Allowed (Super Sidekicks #1)
 
4.5
"This is a cute read! No Adults Allowed is the first book in a new series from author Gavin Aung..."
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LAST FALLEN STAR is a thrilling epic fantasy. Riley Oh is a saram, a person without magic, adopted by..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."